"Flatten" Amp & Cab Block?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Tone Match' started by Burn Witch Burn, Apr 17, 2017.

  1. Burn Witch Burn

    Burn Witch Burn
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    From USA, living in Germany
    To use a term from Photoshop, is it possible to "flatten" an amp block + cab block into a Tone Match block? ...to free up the amp and cab block.

    If so, what is the easiest way to do it? I haven't found a tutorial on exactly that. The ones I've found involve exterior sources.
     
  2. Tahoebrian5

    Tahoebrian5
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    I don't think it's possible. Tone match cannot capture non linear functions is my understanding.
     
    Burn Witch Burn likes this.
  3. Burn Witch Burn

    Burn Witch Burn
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    From USA, living in Germany
    Thanks, Tahoe. Anybody else chime in if you think it's possible.
     
  4. Matt_B_77

    Matt_B_77
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Illinios
    What your asking doesn't make any sense be use the Tone Match is meant to supplement or replace the cab. It's a super fancy filter. It cannot replace the Amp block. An amp does give tone but it also gives gain and "amplification"
     
    Burn Witch Burn likes this.
  5. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,291
    Likes Received:
    2,633
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    You can merge multiple IRs, with other Filters and EQs. But the amp block is a completely different animal.

    Having said that, I have had some success merging and very clean Amp and a Cab into a new IR. That when used with a Drive block and a Comp block allowed for a usable (pseudo) completely gap-less Dual-Amp setup for an 'AX8' customer.
     
    Burn Witch Burn likes this.
  6. Matt_B_77

    Matt_B_77
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Illinios
    Some people use drive blocks as pseudo amps so that's worth trying.
     
    Burn Witch Burn likes this.
  7. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16,684
    Likes Received:
    10,392
    i thought the Amp block is processing in real time, so this seems not possible. a word used more in the music production industry is "freeze" - like freezing a reverb effect so it doesn't use CPU. but that means it "records" exactly how it reacts to the source material, therefore not reacting to any changed.
     
    Burn Witch Burn likes this.
  8. Matt_B_77

    Matt_B_77
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Illinios
    That's true. An amp block is a pretty dynamic thing.
     
    Burn Witch Burn likes this.
  9. zenaxe

    zenaxe
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    1,467
    An amp cannot be replicated with Tone match. Tone match is a frequency response matching tool and because an amplifier stage has non-linear effects like compression and distortion in addition to frequency shaping it cannot be effectively modeled by a TM block alone, this is why a tone match preset requires you to select a similar amp that is preferably dialed in closely to the source when it is being used in the typical way; it must rely on the amp model to perform that function and then the TM block takes care of frequency spectrum matching.

    The cab by itself is totally doable, though; you can theoretically completely reproduce an IR with the TM block.
     
    Desmo808 and Burn Witch Burn like this.
  10. Burn Witch Burn

    Burn Witch Burn
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    From USA, living in Germany
    Thanks for the answers, everybody. My first thought was that TM could not replicate an Amp Block, or that it would be a poor substitute. But if memory serves correctly, I think I have seen more than one preset shared on Axe Change or on this forum that had a TM block and no amp or cab block. As Moke describes, perhaps this is possible only with clean settings (such as some of the acoustic TMs I've seen).

    Two thoughts come to mind if anyone is interested in shedding light on them...

    - As Zenaxe says, a TM of an Amp block would be missing among other things, compression, dynamic distortion, etc., but might it be useable? - perhaps just for a part of a song (a single scene). ...would it save CPU over using another Amp & Cab block?

    ...which leads me back to the start... if you wanted to do this just to hear the result, how would you do it? The tutorials I've seen are not easily translatable to in-the box Tone Matching of Amp & Cab.
     

Share This Page