First rehearsal with the Axe-II

wake911

Experienced
Well, i've had the Axe-II since very early in it's release. And this past weekend I finally had the chance to use it in a "live" setting, at a band rehearsal.

First: My Set-up

Axe-II direct from Out 1 to Mixing board to PA.
Out 2 to my Carvin DCM200L feeding my EV ZX-1 passive cab for my personal monitoring(to compensate for not fully hearing myself in the mix as I'm a background guitarist in this band.)
MFC-101 with 1 Dunlop wah converted to exp pedal for volume (i normally have one dedicated to wah as well, but limited floor space)

Other guitars/bass: They all thought it sounded awesome, and were blown away by the simplicity of just running a mic cable direct from it to the board. The other guitarist uses a Road King through a Soldano 4x12" but has to keep it low volume due to small stages. He was VERY interested, and will likely be an Axe convert. If for no reason that good tones in highly portable package since he sits in with about 5-6 bands from time to time as a guest. I told him i'd come over to his warehouse and crank it up and set him up with a nice realm of tones and let him try it at a show sometime (it'd be a real basic setup of 5 presets, and then some pedals like a normal pedal board setup. with a couple of exp pedals to control some effects as well.

Sound Guy: Easy set-up, sounded good. Loves the no footprint (will be placing on top of Road King for the gig on NYE, so no extra space on floor taken). I looked at the EQ on the board after practice, and there were a couple of increases and decreases across the whole array of the board (Studiolive with tons of eq points, not just Low-Mid-High) There was a little bump in the mids area, and a little drop in the highs/lows, but I had already given a bit of a frown face to output #1 prior to getting to rehearsal, and it looks like it was close to perfect.