First power amp advice

Hey All -

I’m new to the Axe FX III, but not new to amp modeling. I’ve owned a Kemper and have used various plug-ins. I’ve never used a modeler into a power amp into a guitar cab.
I bought the Axe to replace my pedalboard, but I would like to see if I can replace my need for a tube amp with the Axe. I’ve done the FRFR thing with the Kemper and found that it doesn’t scratch my tube amp itch. For this application, I don’t need stereo but most of the power amp choices offer stereo outs. I’m really interested in getting the best “amp in the room” tone. Modeling “flexibility” is second for me in this application as I will only be using two maybe three different amps models.

All that being said, I’ve narrowed it down to the following choices:

1) Matrix GT1000fx
  • the gold standard. A lot a Axe FX players use this power amp and rave about it.
  • Fractal recommended.
  • Axe FX amp/speaker impedance modeling designed for a unit like this.

2) Seymour Duncan Powerstage 170/700
  • the solid state new comer.
  • Mixed reviews on the 170.
  • the 700 seems to be well liked
  • amp like eq control on the unit is nice for live tweeking.

3) Fryette LXII
  • the tube base new comer.
  • Fryette is also Fractal recommended.
  • specifically designed to use with amp modeling
  • real tube interaction with speaker cab.
  • flat response or enhanced response
  • very limited real life feedback from users.

These are the units I’m considering. My instinct says go for the tube based unit, but I’m not so sure. Fractal has put time into modeling the amp/speaker impedance relationship. I wouldn’t want to cut myself short using the LXII. I’ve read that resonance / presence issues can arise with tube power amps. But than again the LXII was designed for modeling.

So many swear by the matrix gt1000fx, and it’s used by many pros. Road tested and pro approved speaks for itself.