First gig/tour with FX8 mkII

Budda

Axe-Master
My first gig with my FX8 was actually the beginning of a 25-day tour to the West Coast and back from Ontario. I like to think that by this point, I know how to dial in useable tones for my band (post-hardcore/spacepunk/whatever).

The first stop was Columbus, Ohio. We played in the basement of a pizza spot (Donato's). As expected, I didn't have any awkward hum or anything once we were set up (2 of 4). The FX8 handled quite well, as I expected it to. Essentially I have the footswitch layout very similar to my previous traditional board, which helps keep guesswork to a minimum. I keep my reverb, main delay and boost (I run an OCD in front of the unit) on the bottom for easy access.

I had made my live preset at home and had about 5 practices to tweak before we left. While there's a lot more to explore with the unit (ex. I'd love to get my expression pedal going, I've never used it before) I'm very happy with the simplified plug-and-play nature of the FX8. I've avoided critique of effects from my bandmates, which is a sign of success :p. I'm excited to dig into making another preset I can use live, and trying to come up with some weird sounds. Someone has made a wish for a glitch/sample block and I back that 100%!

For upcoming tour dates and general shenanigans, follow the band via @sparrows613 on all social media.

Now that tour is over, I can say that the FX8 performed pretty well. It was quite nice not to worry about what might fail and just plug everything in (TU-2 and OCD out front as part of backup/main dirt) and go. I made some guffaws with X/Y's and accidentally changing presets, but that's not remotely due to the pedal haha. Now that we're home for a bit I'm thinking about making a preset per song and investigating this preset manager I read about.

Is anyone else logging lots of hours (and rooms) with theirs?

Is anyone else logging lots of hours (and rooms) with theirs?