Encoder - easy fix?

paulmapp8306

Fractal Fanatic
My Encoder seems to be giving up on me. When I scroll through patches for instance, it sometimes jumps one or two, and occasionally goes back a few - so I might scroll right ant the patches go 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9,6,7,8. This happens both ways.

Its over 2 years old but Ive EMailed sussi at G66. She can do the repait in Germany no problem, and can arrange collecteion - however thats not easy as Im not at home for collections, and as I work on an Army base the couriers cant ge to me.

I suppose something can be worked out, but shes also offered to just send me a new encoder to fit myself. As a tech I can handle a soldering Iron, but is is easy access? do I need to take off the encoder knob - and how? do I have to remove a board to do this and how easy is that etc etc etc.

If its easy Ill do it myself - or else its 10 days or so without my Axe, and a logistics problem to actually get it to Germany. If I pack it up and send it myself, the cost is a lot - around £80 to Germany (say $120 or so) so Id rather avoid that if possible.

paulmapp8306 said:
My Encoder seems to be giving up on me. When I scroll through patches for instance, it sometimes jumps one or two, and occasionally goes back a few - so I might scroll right ant the patches go 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9,6,7,8. This happens both ways.

Its over 2 years old but Ive EMailed sussi at G66. She can do the repait in Germany no problem, and can arrange collecteion - however thats not easy as Im not at home for collections, and as I work on an Army base the couriers cant ge to me.

I suppose something can be worked out, but shes also offered to just send me a new encoder to fit myself. As a tech I can handle a soldering Iron, but is is easy access? do I need to take off the encoder knob - and how? do I have to remove a board to do this and how easy is that etc etc etc.