1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Emergency help needed!!

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by jlynnb1, May 12, 2018.

  1. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    just got my rig set up for the weekend at church and it won't power on, popped the case and it seems like the fuse is blown, does anyone know the specific fuse? I have 1 hour before gig starts
     
  2. USMC_Trev

    USMC_Trev
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    2,647
    Location:
    Legit Republic of Blanketsburg
    you should be able to see it etched into the fuse itself
     
  3. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    4,003
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
  4. USMC_Trev

    USMC_Trev
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    2,647
    Location:
    Legit Republic of Blanketsburg
  5. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    4,003
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Also found another thread indicating maybe a loose power connection inside.
     
  6. #6 cobbler, May 12, 2018
    Last edited: May 12, 2018
    cobbler

    cobbler
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,391
    Likes Received:
    4,417
    Location:
    The desert
    I think it is a 2.5A slow-blow

    Trying to find out where to verify.

    Definetly check all the connections as that is often the culprit.
     
  7. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I was confused because the slot says 5a 250
     
  8. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    We put a multi on the fuse and there was no pass through
     
  9. cobbler

    cobbler
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,391
    Likes Received:
    4,417
    Location:
    The desert
    2.5 amp ceramic (verified)
     
    levipeto likes this.
  10. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    on short notice I could find slow blow so I had to use a regular 2.5, I'll get a slow blow after the weekend but are there any dangers to running with this type of fuse?
     
  11. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,584
    Likes Received:
    9,574
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    It'll blow more easily than a slow-blow. If there's a big transient spike, which often happens when you turn switching supplies off or on, it'll blow a non slow-blow fuse. A slow-blow fuse allows for some spikes, but not prolonged high voltage.
     
    Rex likes this.
  12. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,059
    Likes Received:
    8,141
    c/voltage/current. :)

    Otherwise, spot-on. :cool:
     
    iaresee likes this.
  13. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,584
    Likes Received:
    9,574
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Aye. Yup. Thank you!
     
  14. chucma

    chucma
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Sheesh Jason this is hectic! Did you have to go out to a shop for the fuse? And did you start on time?

    Things like this really shake my confidence right before playing live, hope things went smoothly for you in the end!
     
    jlynnb1 likes this.
  15. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    yeah, got it sorted with 30 minutes to spare. thankfully there was a Lowe's nearby. Will def be adding a few fuses to my equipment bag, though. Was definitely freaked out for a bit though...when I hit that power switch and nothing happened my heart dropped, lol.
     
    chucma likes this.
  16. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    also thanks everyone for your help. I'd found the different threads when searching but the fact that the fuse slot said something different was confusing.
     
    unix-guy likes this.
  17. TG3K

    TG3K
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    I've had it happen before with tube amps. None of our gear is 100% fail-proof. This is a good reminder for me to pick up a spare fuse or two and have them in the gig bag at shows.
     
    chucma likes this.
  18. TG3K

    TG3K
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    The numbers on the slot were most likely referring to the max capacity of that fuse holder. Definitely not the fuse itself.
     
  19. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    got it. in the moment it threw me off...also not an electronics expert, lol.
     
  20. woodbutcher65

    woodbutcher65
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    26
    Tape a couple of spare fuses right to the side of the amp chassis. So it's WITH the amp and you don't accidentally take it out of your gig bag or something.
     
    dsimms, yeky83 and unix-guy like this.

Share This Page