• We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.

Elixir Optiweb feel tighter?

Rich G.

Experienced
I've been using Elixir Nanowebs 10's for something like 10 years. Just to try something different, I decided to order Optiwebs. Had my first gig with them last night. I don't know if it's just me or what... but today my fingers feel like I had 12's on last night. I found I had to 'double-up' to bend up a full note- especially when pushing that high-e from a D to an E at the 22nd fret. The strings don't feel any bigger, just harder to bend. Anyone else experience this when trying the Optiwebs of the same gauge?

dpeterson

Axe-Master
I prefer the nanowebs, the optis felt more like normal strings and I like the slick feeling. I didnt keep them on long so I can’t attest to the tension but I don’t remember anything different in that regard.

Jiffzillla

Experienced
I only have used the nanowebs, so I can’t speak to the optiwebs. But I had the same experience a few years back with Cleartone strings. Didn’t change gage or anything. Just bought a new batch of them and they indeed felt tighter like you describe. I made sure that they were the right gage and everything was the same. I can’t explain it. Neither could the Cleartone rep I talked to. But he did send me 12 sets of strings free of charge for the trouble. Lol

mnemonic

Inspired
Interesting, I usually prefer to use the thinnest strings I can get away with for sound reasons, but if I could also get some more tension with thin strings, that would be ideal. Maybe I’ll pick some up to try, next string change.