Educate me on swamp ash wood for higain

vejichan

Inspired
I have guitars made of alder, basswood, mahogany and koa but never tried swamp ash.

As i got older, i realized i gravitate toward lighter weight guitars like alder and basswood..i avoid heavier woods like koa and mahogany. When it comes to higher gain progressive metal, hows swamp ash compare to alder and basswood? Pros and cons? I have no experience with swamp ash..all i know is that its a common wood used in Telecasters. Please share your experience and thoughts.

Thank you

I have a Mayones Regius 7, the body is made of swamp ash. It's hard to generalize about woods and it wasn't the criteria for me to buy this guitar. I just trusted Mayones that they can pick a good wood, that's all.

I can only tell you that I'm very happy with this guitar. Especially since I installed Polymaths. What I got is a very acoustical sound (as I would hear exactly the wood quality) with a good string separation but powerful and sounding full on high gain settings. It's richly saturated in a warm way but not too much at all. OK, this is due to Polymaths. But they emphasize the sound of the guitar itself. Which I like very much, as I already told. I have for the first time in my life a guitar, where if I play AC/DC, its sounds like AC/DC. If I play funk, it sounds genuine. If I down tune it, it crushes while staying very defined. Is it also because of swamp ash? Probably yes. That's my feedback if it helps. And it is indeed a light guitar.