Does practice equal depth?

piofusco

Inspired
I am 23 years old as of last week. I have been playing since I was 10. That means I have been playing for 13 years. Of all of the fads and hobbies I went through, music has stuck around. I go through phases where I will practice everyday for 8-10 hours and other times where I don't want to play at all.

What always surprises me is the wealth of ideas I have when I come back to the guitar and play. Today, for example, I finally decided to pick up my guitar after weeks of not playing. I set up my recorder, pressed record, and began to play. Just like I expected - presto - a new idea. I often wonder, "why bother playing/practicing everyday? Why not just play periodically and cash in on these bursts of creativity?"

I like to believe these ideas are the sum of all of the experiences going on in my life. Because I have been playing for 13 years, perhaps my experience allows me to express my ideas more effectively. If my years behind the guitar were a person, a 13 year old is capable of self expression. I like to think I am "more perceptive and aware" than my peers and because of this I am "always playing/practicing." (;

Is a guitar players growth determined solely by the number of hours he spends behind the instrument?

No. Not solely. Practice develops capability and proficiency, and you may be inspired to play something new while practicing, or not. Any experience one has may contribute to creativity.

Is a guitar players growth determined solely by the number of hours he spends behind the instrument?

Definitely not. I'd be beyond Guthrie Govan by now if that were true. :) To a some extent everyone will need a certain amount of time to form a foundation but after that I think growth is determined by the individual.