Devin Townsend GP-100 Sound

Morphine

Experienced
Since I got the Axe-Fx earlier this year I have been trying to get Devin Townsend's GP-100 sound over to the Fractal. Since I am a bit of a novice, it's taken a while to kind of get my head wrapped around certain things.

https://axechange.fractalaudio.com/detail.php?preset=7245 - edit Finally attempted a Tonematch and it's pretty indistinguishable to me now edit

Devin used/uses the GP-100 sound blended with a dry amp. Usually a Recto (5150 if you're going for his earlier tone). On its own the GP has kind of a fuzzy/hairy sound to it. He has stated on these forums that for this sound he also has a preset that has the volume ratios reversed for intros (more GP-100 sound, less dry sound). I haven't begun to tackle his dry sound... and not sure if I will haha.

Enjoy!

Last edited:
Thanks! I earballed it based on the GP-100 itself (I own one). So not a total shot in the dark lol. I also own the Ocean Machine pedal.

I asked Mr. Matt Picone if he would share the preset he made for Devin based on the GP-100. He promised Devin he wouldn't. But he did indicate that it's only 1 delay. And that's all he would give. Fair enough. Course, he could have just done that to throw me off ;) haha.

he did indicate that it's only 1 delay

1 delay it is! Sounds awesome just the same, did you get those EQ settings from somewhere or is that earballed also? Just ~2 dB of cumulative 3k high shelf between the GEQ+PEQ post amp adds the high end in just the right spot, it's perfect, if you bypass them it goes dull...

Thanks! No problem :)

I've started dabbling with tonematching the GP-100. I probably should have started there in the first place, haha. If I make decent headway I will post it up here.

I will say that the AxeFx is both a dream and a nightmare for folks who get kinda OCD about this stuff.