Bug Delay hold

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Bugs' started by bobmichigan, Aug 10, 2017.

  1. bobmichigan

    bobmichigan
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    130
    This maybe a repeat . . . Delay hold degrades even with the eq flat.
     
  2. #2 iaresee, Aug 10, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
    iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Mostly Wrong

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7,913
    Likes Received:
    6,386
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    The hold function defeats the inputs of the delay and captures the feedback loop, but the feedback loop still includes components that can degrade the signal on every pass through. Make sure drive, diffusion and bit reduction are all set to zero.

    If you're using a tape algorithm, the head block is in the feedback loop and will continue to smear the sound just like real tape heads do so hold will never produce a non-degrading signal with these algorithms.

    Edit: hmm. Can you even set the EQ on the delay completely flat? Wonder if that's the problem?

    Edit edit: yea, playing around with it here I feel like it's the not-completely-flat EQ that's shaving just a bit off on each repeat. I can certainly get a long hold going but it's not infinite.

    Edit edit edit: actually, I think I'm wrong. The attached block certainly holds a high frequency signal constant for longer than I cared to continue listening to it (like many minutes).
     

    Attached Files:

    yek likes this.
  3. steadystate

    steadystate
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Las Vegas Nevada
    Even at its best, I could never get the Hold to work like "Hold" does on some other products. Hold on some other products seems to play back the contents of the buffer repeatedly, like a looped sample rather than a feedback signal, with no degradation. The onset of Hold on the Axe also has a lump I have never encountered with other delays. It is what it is. It is not a bug. It's the way it is designed.
     
  4. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Mostly Wrong

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    7,913
    Likes Received:
    6,386
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    @steadystate i don't experience a lump.

    You bring up a good point though: there's a looper in the unit if a loop is what you want.

    I don't really know what people who say it isn't working correctly are looking for. Maybe they can post some examples of how they use other hold delays?
     
  5. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,292
    Likes Received:
    1,080
    I think the "lump" steadystate mentioned is a dip that gives a pulsing effect, like the first half of this clip. The cause seems to be linear fades on input gain & feedback. The second half of the clip (created in DAW) is an example of how more complementary log fades would sound.



    [​IMG]
     
    steadystate and iaresee like this.
  6. steadystate

    steadystate
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Las Vegas Nevada
    A looper isn't practical as a delay hold. What I'm looking for is a hold that does not introduce amplitude fluctuations when engaged, and does not degrade over time. This assumes a constant-amplitude input signal, since a decaying signal can cause a pulse even with a perfect hold.
     
  7. #7 bobmichigan, Aug 14, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
    bobmichigan

    bobmichigan
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    130
    Good old "infinite repeats"
    Circa 1985 Delta Lab 1024

    Perhaps not a bug per say, but just the way it was implemented.
     

Share This Page