1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Default output level is lower than the Axe-Fx II

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Mar 29, 2018.

  1. austinbuddy

    austinbuddy
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Likes Received:
    2,934
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Truth! I've made dozens over the years! As Homer Simpson says, "DOH" is not just a pizza crust!
     
    iaresee, yeky83 and Rex like this.
  2. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,845
    Likes Received:
    8,765
    You and me both, Buddy! :)
     
    austinbuddy and iaresee like this.
  3. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,083
    Likes Received:
    10,116
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I step it in daily. :D
     
    Rex and austinbuddy like this.
  4. TJ Lincoln

    TJ Lincoln
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Why not share your “head-slap”. Always helps members searching forum that might make same mistake.
     
    simonp54 likes this.
  5. Shaun Attwood

    Shaun Attwood
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    100 % ...I did exactly the same....Happy Days
     
  6. SoundWestStudios

    SoundWestStudios
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    You'd be surprised how tipping a sound guy can "tip" the sound quality in your favor ;P
     
  7. Giordydiver

    Giordydiver
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    25
    What is the correct output level for output 1 to studio monitor or frfr cab, and output 2 to matrix gt1000fx and guitar cab? On matrix manual they say the correct level il 0db...
     
  8. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,260
    Likes Received:
    76,850
    Set them both to +4 dBu to start. If one of the devices starts clipping turn that output down to -10 dBV.
     
  9. Giordydiver

    Giordydiver
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    25
    I just read monitors manual and the input is set to +4db so no problem, but with matrix how see if it clip?
     
  10. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    23,309
    Likes Received:
    14,608
    the clip lights will turn on, on the matrix.
     
  11. Giordydiver

    Giordydiver
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    25
    Are you referred to output level led?
     
  12. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8,601
    Likes Received:
    4,821
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Matrix does not have clip lights... They have LEDs that light as you start to "push" the amp (basically indicates the output level).
     
  13. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8,601
    Likes Received:
    4,821
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    FYI, I run mine at -10db into my Matrix on full power, then use the Output level knob (Output 2 for me) to control the overall volume... Easier to turn 1 knob than 2.

    I think I also might have my Output 2 block level adjusted up +4-6db... I don't actually remember, but I can check if you're interested?
     
  14. William Mims

    William Mims
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Southeast Coast
    I had to go to +4 using 1/4" into my Xitone MBritt... Boy was that thing starving for hotter input! Like night and day!!!! Rocks!!!!
     

Share This Page