Debating an altruistic gesture

Xrocker

Fractal Fanatic
Hey guys,

I’m trying to decide on selling my AxeFxII or giving it to a friends son.

Years ago my friend would come to my shows and bring his young son once and awhile. He really wanted to be a guitarist and I taught him a few tricks on Cliffs of Dover and Always With Me. His dad said he learned to play both of them flawlessly.

The kid knew I graduated from Berklee and when he turned 18 he went to Berklee.
He graduates soon.

I’ll never have any kids so this is as close as I will ever get to having someone follow in my footsteps.

I’ve got a new AxeFxIII so my old II and mfc101 are just gathering dust.

Only things I’m considering is that my II is serial number 8 and was hand assembled and signed my Cliff.

I’m also in a hugely expensive legal battle since my wife died. Can’t talk about it now, but I will soon.

So, what do you think? Sell it for some short term survival money or a random act of kindness and let the universe look out for me?

I'm so sorry for your legal fight, and I wish you the best of luck with that.

I believe in karma, and I do think sending out kind gestures into the universe matters deeply; I would vote to give the unit to your friend's son. You may not see the kindness reflected to you in the way you expect, but it may happen in one form or another regardless.

Truly best of luck in getting through this.

The only question I would ask is:
If you give it to your friend's son and he flips it to get something else, would that bother you?

Personally, if I knew I'd never use it again and had someone like that in my life, I'd sell it and buy him an FM9. If it sold for more than the FM9 cost, you're money ahead. If not, you've gifted him the latest in modeling technology and something that will continue to grow with him.

If you're looking to "keep it in the family" give it to his dad with instructions it's not to be sold. He can then let his son use it.