Crest Audio X-Rack Mixers

Sidivan

Fractal Fanatic
Does anybody have any experience with Crest Audio mixers? I'm looking at building a monitor rack and while digital is awesomely cool, it's also super crazy expensive. I'm thinking of picking up the X 20RM as it has 12 AUX outs, which would give us each a stereo in-ear mix. Currently, we rely on the FOH guy to send back mixes and we often find ourselves sharing mixes, using wedges, or some combination thereof.

Used, they are about 1/2 this price, but here's a link: Crest X20RM Rack Mixer, 12 Mono x 4 Stereo, 20 Mic Inputs | Full Compass

Edit: I accidentally posted this in the general section instead of the lounge.

Last edited:
I have no experience with that mixer but have looked into this before... check out the Allen and Heath mix wizard wz3, cheaper, still pricey. We ended up going with the new mackie digital thingy with the ipad. it has 6 auxes, not everyone gets stereo but not everyone is on ears or "needs" stereo either so it works out.. best part is we can run monitor mixes and foh mix from up to 10 devices wirelessly.. so i can control my monitor mix with an ipod touch or iphone.

The Crest is excellent. Very high quality gear.

I'm going through a similar thought process at the moment - the digital route makes a hell of a lot of sense but in the heat of battle having a physical knob for everything can be crucial.

I believe the fader will go the way of the 8-track before long. The mackie eliminates the need for a snake, clears out a bunch of room wasted out front where people can sit, and I can turn myself up in a second instead of yelling through the pa for the sound guy to turn up more snare in my mix. Some guys dig knobs, just like valves ;)