Compression after the Cab?

Bman

Power User
In this video Rhett Shull shares a few tips to make his modeler (Helix, Kempler). One of the tips was to add compression after the cab, to give the setup a more realistic tube amp feel.

I was wondering if anyone had tried this or used a different method to achieve this?

The Fractal products model the whole amp.

If they are accurate (and they are ;)) then you're already getting a realistic tube amp feel :D

Of course, you can always do this to add to that. Although I'd put it after the amp not the cab.

Play around with the compression parameters in the Amp block. I think you'll find everything you need there.

@unix-guy is right. The amp models in the AX8 already include realistic compression. But there's no reason you can't add more if you want. :)

I was wondering about adding “after” compression to achieve a more studio like sound. I started playing with a compression block after the cab, but haven’t found a setup I like enough to use yet.

I was wondering about adding “after” compression to achieve a more studio like sound.

(Optical Compressor 1) After the amp gives you that "instant hit record" sound.

I'm actually working on the compressor right now and I think I've figured out a way to give it a threshold which makes it more useful when used after the amp.

When used after the amp I like to dial in a little Emphasis.

I've found with my AX8/Xitone setup that the louder I turn my preset up the less warm it gets. The opposite of a tube amp. Moving off axis certainly helps with that perception and the lack of warmth helps with the tone cutting through the mix. But I know when I crank my Marshall it compresses in a sweet way and always cuts through. I figured the advanced parameters can provide the compression as noted above, rather than using a compressor block. I'll give it a look and see if I can recreate that nirvana.