Compatibility: FBV MkII Express Footswitch?

webmaestro

Sorry, forum search isn't doing me any favors, so I just have to ask ya'll. I have a Line 6 FBV MkII Express (the little one) footswich lying around, and I'd love to use it with my AFXII if possible... as the MFC-101 is too expensive for me. Anyone had success using ANY Line 6 pedalboards with your AFXII?

I'm searching online for info and coming up with a big goose egg, and haven't had any luck so far getting it to work. The power (on the footswitch) doesn't even come on when plugged into my AFXII. That's probably my answer right there, but thought I'd see if you all know something that I don't.

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure it's a VERY BAD IDEA to connect anything but the MFC to the foot controller jack on the back. The only way Line 6 gear is going to talk to your Axe-FX is over a standard protocol like MIDI. Both the FBV and MFC are using their own proprietary communication protocols. Long story short, it won't work and it's possible to damage the equipment on either end by connecting incompatible devices.

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure it's a VERY BAD IDEA to connect anything but the MFC to the foot controller jack on the back. The only way Line 6 gear is going to talk to your Axe-FX is over a standard protocol like MIDI. Both the FBV and MFC are using their own proprietary communication protocols. Long story short, it won't work and it's possible to damage the equipment on either end by connecting incompatible devices.

Thanks for the info. After my post, I continued to research and though I didn't find any info regarding Line 6 footswitches per se, it looks like I have some other options from other manufacturers. So, I'll look into those instead.

Your best bet is to pick up a PodXT live or similar and use the midi out of the Pod to drive the AxeFx midi in.

Floor Board -> Pod -> midi out -> AxeFx midi in.

I'm guessing preset changes would be about the extent of it though.