1. Recent events require us to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Communication timeout problem with Q.8

Discussion in 'Axe-Edit (Gen I, II only)' started by Malvolio, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. Armando

    Armando
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Any updates on this?? It's so annoying, it's happening every 5 minutes to me.
     
    marbie likes this.
  2. amiko

    amiko
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    @FractalAudio Please don’t leave axe fx II in this broken state :(
     
  3. Armando

    Armando
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I don't know if anyone else figured this out, but I realized for me it's only happening when I'm also using the axe fx as an audio interface. So what I'm doing now is every time I use the Axe Edit, I stop using the axe fx as an interface, and I've had zero communication problems. This obviously is not a fix, but at least you won't have to restart the axe fx every 2 minutes.
     
  4. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Likes Received:
    4,262
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    This has been mentioned a few times in this thread, and in the other threads on this subject.

    It seems to be only happening to the Mark 1 and Mark 2 units, and related to using the Axe-Fx II as a USB audio device while editing with Axe-Edit. Just having it connected as a USB audio device hasn't caused me any issues.

    The timeout only occurs when audio is actively streaming while I am making parameter adjustments via Axe-Edit. But it doesn't happen every time? I can have audio playing while I'm tweaking for 10 or 20 minutes without issue? Then other times, I can be editing a preset (via Axe-Edit) with USB audio connected, but not streaming any audio at that time, and I get a simple email notification and it times out.

    Extremely frustrating for sure.
     
    Armando likes this.
  5. jarabuandi

    jarabuandi
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    BNE - Australia
    I can confirm what @Moke said. It only happens when the Axe is used as USB Audio device. I've had a couple of good days (No timeout issues) this week but today it happens after about 5 minutes of playing. Go figure!
     
  6. marbie

    marbie
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    same problem on my system. Very annoying!!!!
     
  7. #67 Moke, Apr 8, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2018
    Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Likes Received:
    4,262
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    BTW... Still happening on 9.04 (Mk 1)
     
  8. pitta

    pitta
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Germany
    confirmed.
    Mk I and Q9.04.
     
  9. Andrew Male

    Andrew Male
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    This is getting super irritating, just had 3 timeouts in about 5 minutes, which requires a full reboot of software/axe hardware.

    If I want to use Axe edit, i have to stop all audio.

    "
    Communication time-out:

    Axe-Edit was unable to complete the following communication request: Load Preset : modifier_query_all_ids
    "
     
  10. Malvolio

    Malvolio
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    42
    If Fractal Audio cared about customers having this problem, they would either fix it or tell MkI and Mk II customers firmware Q8 and up is not supported on those models. Remaining silent and letting the problem fester like this (it's been a year since it was first reported) is irritating their customers and harming their customer service reputation.
     
  11. Velokki

    Velokki
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Finland
    Argh. This is just too annoying. I love the Axe FX, but if this doesn't get repaired I'm considering changing ecosystems altogether.

    I MUST be able to reliably tweak patches when I'm recording.

    Happened twice in 30 minutes now. Both times had to shut DAW, restart computer and load everything back.
     
  12. Velokki

    Velokki
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Finland
    And AGAIN.
    Like this:
    Axe Edit bug.jpg
     
  13. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Likes Received:
    4,262
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Still happening for me too (Mark 1).

    I've had to stop using the Axe-Fx II for USB audio, especially when tweaking presets. But it still makes 'Tone Matching' very frustrating when using USB as of the source input. I suppose I could run cables from my other interface and use input 2? I sure wish they could get this fixed. It's definitely reproducible for me.
     
  14. amiko

    amiko
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like they have no interest in fixing this.. No reply whatsoever in this thread. What a disappointment.
     
  15. mact

    mact
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmmm.... same problem here. Too bad that there is no solution in sight.....
     
  16. Malvolio

    Malvolio
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    42
    Remember this thread the next time someone says Fractal has good customer support.
     
  17. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16,854
    Likes Received:
    7,276
    Then remember the 10,000 other threads where Fractal exhibited superb customer support.
     

Share This Page