Cliff Can You Tell Us The Status Of The 3X3 USB RE-AMP!!

willowdale

Fractal Fanatic
I really want this feature, so an update on your thoughts on this would be appreciated.

You last stated that 3X3 was the answer but you were having an issue with doing this on a PC, and have not said anything since.

Am I to assume that this means you could do it on a MAC?

Any info from you(or anyone from Fractal) on the progress would be cool.

Can you tell I really want this feature!!

I believe in a thread he said that it used up too much CPU for that configuration. Lemme find the thread as to make sure.

I believe he said it used up too much CPU for 4X4, but that 3X3 was the answer. He then went on to complain about something to do with PC Code.

4x4 overloads the USB 2.0 bandwidth.... We have 4x2 already, so 3x3 is probably a reconfig, but might be a coding challenge ?

As a USB programmer, I can tell you the PC drivers for USB suck big time! Cliff is probably battling the crap code from Microsoft.

Reactions: jon
What do you need 3x3 or 4x4 for? Currently I can record the wet and dry tracks simultaniously in stereo. I don't know for what I should need/use more tracks?

What do you need 3x3 or 4x4 for? Currently I can record the wet and dry tracks simultaniously in stereo. I don't know for what I should need/use more tracks?
I think the issue here is you can't currently reamp and listen to the mix at the same time

4x4 overloads the USB 2.0 bandwidth.... We have 4x2 already, so 3x3 is probably a reconfig, but might be a coding challenge ?

haha usb 2.0 can handle much more than crappy 6 or 8 tracks at one time ;)

just do a simple calculation: one track on 48khz witz 24bit -> 48000 * 24bit = 140kBytes/s = 0,137 MB/s

on 8 tracks thats only about 1 MB/s ... usb2.0 can handle much more even with some information for the transfer protocol etc. (run and external HD and it will copy data with about 30MB/s)