Classic Rock Tones?

CudBucket

Inspired
Just wondering how many folks here are using the AFIII for older, "simpler" tones from the '70s. I'm jamming with a band that does a ton of Allman Brothers as well as Doobie Brothers and Steely Dan. I've been working on an Allman Brothers type preset with scenes for clean, lead, etc.

It might appear to some that the AFIII is way more than what might be needed to get a passable version of these tones. But hey. I have one and why not try to have some fun with the AFIII and replicate them? Normally, I'd just use a Hot Rod Deluxe and some pedals with my Les Paul for a live scenario.

Thanks.
Dave

Many folks here do ... from Fenders to Marshall’s to Vox ... even FAS idealized versions of them. With over 200 amps to pick from, finding 2-3 won’t be difficult.

heck, I’ve been playing the ’59 Bassman and plexi’s for the past 6 months nearly exclusively (using guitar volume pots for tone and gain interactions). Try the 1970s plexi. Old school bro ... 😎

Tons of us do. Take whatever combination of amps, cabs, effects, etc that you want, build a patch, and go nuts.
After you’ve landed on a few classic combinations that work for you, start combining rigs using channels if you want- you can get a variety of amazing rigs with just one preset using different channels for each block. (Channel A for the amp block is a nice Fender, B is an Ac-30, C is a Plexi, D is a Hiwatt, or whatever floats your boat.). Use scenes to switch back and forth.

I started with the Plexis but have been digging the Friedmans lately...I did a full set last weekend on the Friedman HBE 2018 with my les paul and it was FUN. All classic rock stuff.

Interesting. Even though the Soldanos and Friedmans are based on Marshalls, I generally associate them with high-gain tones. I'll have to look at those for these kinds of tones too.