Clapton using Dumble ODS

Hi,
thought it would be interesting to try and get a Clapton tone out of the ODS in my Fx3 with the same settings in the picture of Claptons Dumble. As I’m relatively new to the Fractal world do the amp settings on the real amps line to the same on the Fractal’s? I’m also not sure what the speaker is in the cab, it could be an EV12L or a G1265. Any help would be really appreciate. Unfortunately I don’t as yet have a clip of the tone he got so it’s very tricky not having a sound example. He was using it in 2013 in Atalanta as far as I kno.

Attachments

• 114B9F3A-3DF0-4D39-A4D0-9112C1FAB997.jpeg
    114B9F3A-3DF0-4D39-A4D0-9112C1FAB997.jpeg
    170.5 KB · Views: 79
Basically every Dumble is different and even production model amplifiers are all different because of parts tolerances. You could use his settings as a starting point, but ultimately you should use your ears and make adjustments until it sounds good to you. I would start at the stock settings or at the settings you see on Clapton's amp, find a cab that sounds best at those settings, then make the final tweaks to get the tone and feel where you want.

Not necessarily, but they might be close. This is due to the tolerances of component parts in physical amplifiers having some variances, so no two actual physical amplifiers at the same settings sound exactly the same, but you might get in the ballpark, and then tweak it from there.

Also, sometimes Fractal Audio amplifier controls might have a slightly different taper on the knob twisting as well. I recommend you check out Yek's Guide to the Fractal Audio Amp Models for some fantastic information about every amplifier, comparisons with the real thing, cab selection advice, etc.

https://wiki.fractalaudio.com/wiki/index.php?title=Yeks_Guide_to_the_Fractal_Audio_Amp_Models

Last edited: