1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Changing the Ethernet port to an Ethercon

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by Alan Jack, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. Alan Jack

    Alan Jack
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    .....is it possible to do this on an Axe FX II?

    The ethernet port has failed on my unit and as I have bought this secondhand I'm unable for whatever reason to have G66.eu talk to me. They want the original owner etc so they can look up the unit in their system.

    Anyway....can I change the port over or have the work done? Has anyone else changed the ethernet port for an ethercon?

    Thanks
     
  2. Ole

    Ole
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Location:
    Denmark
    No. There is not room enough on the mainboard for the ethercon plug.
    It is possible on the MFC but not on the Axe-Fx II.
     
  3. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    3,999
    Get a short Ethernet cable, then a pass thru style eithernet/ethercon jack, Mount it in a rack case and plug your ethercon cable into it, you’ve got an ethercon jack now

    I personally ran mine to the front of my rack case
     
    Ole and ta6rma like this.
  4. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    3,999
    Keep in mind ethercon is just Ethernet, with a metal sleeve around it.

    You can make any Ethernet cable into ethercon with a little adapter that mounts the metal sleeve

    Only real difference is the metal sleeve locks in better than the little plastic tab on a plain Ethernet cable
     
  5. #5 Alan Jack, Nov 5, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2018
    Alan Jack

    Alan Jack
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks folks. Unfortunately the ethernet port has failed and no longer works. I'm guessing I will just have to replace it like for like.

    I'm currently having to use a MIDI cable and 9v to power my MFC, I would like to move back to the CAT5 cable
     
  6. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11,949
    Likes Received:
    74,931
    It's possible that the electronics connected to the port are damaged. One of the "problems" with the original Axe-Fx units was people would accidentally insert a USB plug into that port and short the power which would let the smoke out.

    Later units have a resetable fuse to protect against this.
     
    Alan Jack likes this.
  7. Japster

    Japster
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Blackwood, Wales, United Kingdom
    Me too :(
     
  8. Shredology

    Shredology
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    SC
    This ^
    I did this for years and it worked great
     
  9. Alan Jack

    Alan Jack
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I opened up the case today to check if the unit has a fuse protecting the ethernet port.

    This is how it looks

    45663985_281947232428590_422927740329525248_n.jpg



    Fried.....but repairable? You input is welcome.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page