Change of Guitar Pick question/poll

Triaxis75

Inspired
Hey folks,

Anyone with a fair amount of time in ever drastically change their guitar pick types? It's a silly question, but it's kind of bugging me. I've always played Dunlop Jazz III type picks because of my upbringing and influences, but I see guys like Marshall Harrison, Nuno, and others that make me wonder what if I used a traditional style pick.

The anxiety issue comes in that when I use a traditional pick, everything seems much easier and I get worried that I'll lose the physical motor skills that I've developed using a smaller pick. It's silly, I know (and thank you for reading this far) but has anyone transitioned from that smaller pick type that offers that type of control to a larger, traditional type of pick and had great results that made them not regret turning back?

i've been using the Jazz III XL black for 10+ years, tried this and that new pick, but always come back. it's the one for me.

maybe try the XL version of what you already use.

Short answer to your question: Yes, went from using an .88mm standard size for years, to a 3.5mm slightly smaller than standard pick.

Essay answer:
I used Dunlop Tortex .88mm for eons (well, 10+ years). After hearing some of the praises and benefits of using thicker picks, I tried a few and landed on the Dunlop John Petrucci 1.5mm and Planet Waves Black Ice (1.5mm) as I seemed to prefer their larger size vs the standard Jazz III and found I had much more control and dynamics with them. I used them for a couple of years but found I didn't like the 'click' when contacting the strings with both of these. I was bored one day so I started looking at 'boutique' picks and discovered a whole other world of thicker guitar picks.