Best nearfield studio monitors

Doug

Inspired
Unlike many of you on these boards, I'm a bedroom (or living room if you want to be specific) player with no need for the type of volume necessary for gigging or band practice. I've searched and read through a lot of posts over the last few days, but I'm finding that most cabs recommended may be overkill for the bedroom. Can anyone provide recommendations for me? I've seen a recommendation for the Rokkit - what else would be a good option? Would the Atomic work well at relatively low volumes? I'm thinking yes. My Axe-Fx should be here within the next few days, so I plan on trying out a few options soon. Price isn't too much of a consideration, I definitely don't want to short-change myself with a mediocre monitor.

Thanks!

Re: Bedroom Cabs

I've been using KRK V4 Series II's for a little over two years and they've been great. They've got a couple of features that I think are really cool, like an auto on/off feature for convenience and a speaker protection circuit for a little extra confidence that I won't blow them on the rare occaision that I get a little carried away ....

Recently though, I changed over to the Adam A5's. I moved my Studio to the basement ( a little bigger room ) and I got a really great deal on a close out for the Adams ....

If money is truly no object, a lot of guys are using the Adams A7's or the new A7X's.

I'm probably going to sell the KRK's cause I don't need them any more, so good luck with whatever you decide !

Thanks R.D., I think I'll head to GC tomorrow to check out a few monitors (and return my Line 6).

You don't need a "cab", IMHO. You need to be looking at powered studio monitors, lots of great choices available for those.

Focal CMS 65's,
Expensive, but amazing! I have heard good things about the adam's, but think the Focals (as do most online reviews) are a step up!
I guess it really depends on how much your willing to spend, alot of decent choices.