best app or small multi fx unit for practicing?

Chewie5150

Fractal Fanatic
Wondering what apps such as Amplitube , you find sound the best for quick practice sessions? I'm an iphone/ipad user. Also any good apps you'd recommend for learning/practicing scales?

Also interested in small stompbox or multi fx unit like the vox stomplab 2G. thoughts? If only Fractal had a mini version for my living room. Lookin for simple quick solution for couch playing that has decent amp sims/tones.

Cheers

Last edited:
I don't use any apps for practice so somebody else will have to jump in here. That said, I have been teaching guitar for several decades. My suggestion is to take a step back and decide how you approach the guitar neck. There are several approaches that are pretty common. I typically adapt my teaching approach and strive for a balance between what the student wants to learn, and what I know they need to learn in order to progress. Do you visualize the neck in a few playing zones? Or do you orient yourself off the low E string and think in terms of Barre chords?

Also, give some thought to your picking hand. Do you mostly use alternate picking or do you use economy picking? The answer to that will help determine how you approach scales. For example, if you are predominately an economy picker, then you will want to approach your scales using 3 notes per string, so as to take advantage of the economy picking. Likewise, if you are predominately an alternate picker, then the approach to scales should take into account that not all strings will use 3 notes per string.