Basic AX8 questions

epidemika

Hey everyone,

I'm a noob so I'm looking for some basic help how on to use this thing. My questions are:

1) Do I create the presents on the unit or in AX8-Edit?
2) I bought my unit used and it comes with Austin Buddy presets. I don't use 99% of these tones and I don't want them on there. Is there a way for me to get all these presets off my AX8 and saved onto my computer in case I want to use them later?
3) How do I limit the AX8 to just my own presets? I'm about to record a demo and I really don't see myself using more than 2 or 3 tones total.
4) Scenes - correct me if I'm wrong but those are basically situations where certain fx pedals are turned on or turned off, right? So I don't have to tap-dance on stage turning effects on or off? Alternatively can I just setup the buttons 1-8 on the board to toggle the on/off of effects in the chain?
5) If someone uploads a preset to the exchange, that usually does not include a cabinet, right?
6) Is an 'impulse reponse' (IR) just a cabinet or is that something else?
7) Live situation: I have a headrush 12" speaker which seems fine for at home, but in a live situation I believe I would still prefer to use a 4x12 cabinet. Is there a 4x12 FRFR cabinet to use with this thing? If not, what to AX8 users do if they still like a 4x12 cab?
8) Do the other newer Fractal units have a more user-friendly interface? I find the AX8 a little odd to mess with on the board itself, so my thinking is that I'd dial my sound on Ax8-Edit and just use the Ax8 to play live.
9) Can Ax8-Edit be used as a VST Plugin (for example to add coloration to a midi or audio signal in my DAW)?

Any help is appreciated!

Jesse

1) You can create presets either way. Probably easier using the editor.

2) Yes, you can backup the presets to your computer using Fractal-Bot.