Axe8 or Axe Fx 2???

Malakai

Hey guys I have been playing guitar for a few years now and am keen to start playing gigs in the near future. I am tossing up between buying the axe8 or the Axe Fx 2. I have about $1300 saved up, should I spend it on the Axe8 now or keep saving for an axe fx 2 or xl+? I currently just play guitar in my bedroom with a boss katana 50, but I am keen to get out there for gigs soon. I love exploring new tones and presets. How much does the axe fx 2 or axe fx 2 xl+ offer that the Axe8 doesn't? What do you recommend?

Depends on two things.
If you're planning to stay in the bedroom for a while or not
If you want the full potential (two amps at once and a lot more CPU, more fx with X/Y,....Compare Ax8 with AxeFx II) or not

If you're planning on gigging, you'll need a controller to go with the AxeFx II
With the Ax8, it's all there.

AX8 has plenty of horsepower. It can run about 10 blocks in a preset. Sounds and feels amazing to play. It is "all-in-one solution" for Live use. Works great for home recording with seperate audio interface like Focusrite scarlett 2i4.

Axe-Fx2 has insane amount of horsepower and some cool extra features,like: tonematch, mics in a cab block, few effects more, dual amp and cab, build in audio interface.

I had AFXII before, but I have AX8 now. It works better for me. I use it in home and band practices. It is so easy to take it with me and again setup for playing.

Edit:
With Axe-Fx2 you also need midi controller for live use. So the end price will be quite a bit bigger, than getting AX8. But if you feel, that you need the extra CPU, then Axe FX 2 will serve you well.

Went through the same dilemma when looking to replace my Kemper. AXE FX 2 had all the features under the sun but I wanted a relatively simple solution to play live so chose the AX8.