Axe FX Ultra review

Axe_34

Posted this on TGP too.

Welcome to my review of the Axe Fx Ultra.

First, a bit of background that will put some of my findings into context.

I'm 39 and have been playing guitar for 4 years, entirely self-taught. I'm a basement rocker hoping to one day play out but for now my daughter's my biggest fan.

I've owned several amps and built three. For the last three years, my main amp has been an 18-watt clone I built from a kit from Trinity Amps. My main guitar is an 08 Les Paul Standard with Bareknuckle Mules.

In terms of amp modelers, I've tried just about all of them, from Boss to Digitech to Line 6 to Zoom to VSTs. Hell, I even have Amplitube for my iPod.

As some of you may have read here, my latest foray into modeling was with the POD HD500.

I'm going to use it as a comparator to the Axe FX.

For ease of reading, I'll break the review into sections.

So away we go.

Ease of setup

I received my Ultra (thanks Black Squirrel!), hooked it up to the computer with an EMU Midi 1X1 and I used XLR cables to hook it up to my audio interface, a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40. My monitors are a pair of five-inch Rokits. I'm also running it into a 100-watt powered Yorkville FRFR wedge.

I had already downloaded Axe Edit.

I turned it on and..............keraaaang!

Well, more like a gentle chime since it was dialed into a Deluxe Reverb preset set to clean. The point is, I had no hiccups (at this point) and was off to the races. It was about the same degree of difficulty as the Pod since you need to download a program, install it and then update drivers/firmware (My Ultra came with the latest firmware so I can't speak to how easy it is to update).

All that being said, I'd give the edge to the Ultra, but only by a 3-inch cable length.

Hardware interface