Axe-Fx III vs FX8

Hi all,

Newbie here. Been playing guitar for 18 years and have used units like the G-System in the past.

Ok so I finally got sold on it after watching Billy Howerdel's rig rundown. The effects you can make on this thing are insane and I want it bad. So, I'm going Fractal for effects at the very least. I own a Diezel VH4 with a Diezel 4x12 cab that is probably not anywhere (famous last words). Sold the setup once and bought it again. Love it too much to let it go though.

However, I love tweaking with effects and making new sounds. Think A Perfect Circle. I love making really cool interesting sounds with multi layered effects such as delays, crazy modulations, big ambient reverbs, etc etc on a single patch. It helps inspire creativity for me. Here's my question:

Will the FX8 be enough power for me or will the AxeFX III be significantly better for effects only? Can I get more creative with the better processing power of the III or am I going to be just fine with the FX8? Does the III run as well as the FX8 in the 4CM with an amp that takes MIDI? These are the things I need to know and I can't seem to find any info out there on this topic.

It looks like the III is easier to edit on the fly and has more long term capability but it is also like $2000 more and then I still need to buy a MIDI controller on top of it. Although the new FC-12 looks awesome. I know if I want to do some modeling that the III is the better choice but I really want to know if the FX8 can get the job done for using effects only if I want to do a lot in the effects department in each scene. It's a big price difference so the info would be helpful.

Help? Thanks!

Sounds like you'd be happiest with the III, the FX8 can do crazy stuff to a point, but the III will interface 4cm just as good, and get you more multi-layered things going on without breaking a sweat