1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe FX III Scenes & Channels Demo

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Recordings' started by camilovelandiamusic, Mar 30, 2018.

  1. camilovelandiamusic

    camilovelandiamusic
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Hey guys I hope you enjoy this video. The new scenes and channels combined are probably one of my favorite features of the new Axe.

     
    Tuco, bishop5150, sidler72 and 11 others like this.
  2. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,693
    Likes Received:
    82,599
    Nice job.

    To recap:
    - Channels can be thought of as a preset for an individual block. For example, you can think of the Delay block as being a stand-alone delay pedal (or rackmount processor) with four presets.
    - Scenes store the bypass state and channel for each block.

    By using scenes and channels you can use a single preset for an entire song, an entire set or even the entire show. Since the routing doesn't need to change things switch fast and smooth. When switching presets the processor has to assume the routing might have changed and therefore has to clear all the buffers, mute the audio, etc. which takes time and interrupts the audio.
     
    Tuco, jethro, bishop5150 and 11 others like this.
  3. gpz

    gpz
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    fr
    or even for an entire life
    ;)
     
    Tuco, aens and Triaxis75 like this.
  4. skracus

    skracus
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Thanks for the video. I’ve been very interested in hearing amp blocks controlled with channels. Maybe I misread a while back but I thought the audio drop outs were gone with channels and amp switching as compared to how it works with x/y. What I’m hearing here is that two amp blocks would still be required for seamless switching. It seems improved but still audible. Could this be a preset setup issue?
     
  5. skracus

    skracus
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Just saw Cliff’s response. Understood.
     
  6. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Great Video ,that Plexi preset sounds killer

    One other thing I noticed ,could you just turn the A knobs to scroll through scene faster ?

    So Cliff ,just to clarify you need to use 2 amp blocks if you want no interruption changing scenes ,especially if going from something like a twin to a Recto is this correct , amp1 and Amp2 will be seamless transition
     
    bishop5150 likes this.
  7. camilovelandiamusic

    camilovelandiamusic
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Correct!!! There are many ways to access the scenes and channels... and they vary depending on what screen you're on!
     
  8. camilovelandiamusic

    camilovelandiamusic
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    This new addition of channels is seriously going to change the way I work. I will need less presets for session work now. Very cool. And to be clear, that split second amp change volume mute doesn't bother me at all. Didn't even bother me in previous units either where it was more obvious. I know other users are more picky so I felt it was worth mentioning.
     
  9. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    5,844
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Thanks. Your videos are quickly becoming my favorites :)

    I should note, I already understood all of this, but the presentation was very nice and clear.
     
    camilovelandiamusic and bradlake like this.
  10. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24,721
    Likes Received:
    15,839
    so many parameters are changing when you switch amp types. using channels, there has to be a short audio gap to prevent noise from sudden changes of fundamental tone generation.

    like on the Axe-Fx II, using 2 amp blocks you are simply muting or unmuting them, so there is no audio gap needed - no parameters are changing. those 2 amp tones are ready to go, one is just muted. with real amps, many pro/touring players have several of the same amp, or several different amps, each set for the tone they need, and use an audio switcher - like an A/B box - to change their sound. many really don't use channels even on a multi-channel amp if they need absolutely no gaps when changing sounds. same concept here.
     
    bishop5150, bradlake and Triaxis75 like this.
  11. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    5,844
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    In the examples demonstrated, I don't hear any bigger of a gap than I would when changing channels on a real amp. This is so much better than the Axe Fx II x/y :)
     
    bishop5150 and Triaxis75 like this.
  12. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24,721
    Likes Received:
    15,839
    i agree. it's great!
     
    unix-guy likes this.
  13. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Ottawa

    Thanks Chris that makes perfect sense now
     
  14. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Milo ,again that preset sounds great , Maybe you could share the preset when you have some time and your happy with it in the Presets thread ?
     
    bradlake likes this.
  15. Chad Beattie

    Chad Beattie
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    370
    Will the number of scenes ever be increased to support more than 8 now that we have the expanded capabilities of channels? Personally I've never needed more than 8 per preset. But I have a few different presets where if combined into one, the total number of scenes needed may go beyond 8. With many of the blocks having 4 channels, the amount of combinations within a preset is fairly large. My other thought is maybe this is addressed with the FC's capabilities. If you easily pull up a scene that represents a 'Rig' within a preset, and then have the ability to change one ore more channels within that scene easily, that would seem to allow for the use of one preset for about anything you could imagine. And again, my thinking and approach to all of this may be completely wrong and I'm missing something that negates the question in general :) Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
     
  16. ccroyalsenders

    ccroyalsenders
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    4,042
    Precisely!
     
  17. camilovelandiamusic

    camilovelandiamusic
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Absolutely!! Ill play and tweak it til its where I find it most useful and Ill upload it
     
    bradlake likes this.
  18. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,440
    Likes Received:
    23,842
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    On the topic of a single preset: yes and no. Let me explain this (including a suggestion for @FractalAudio ). :)

    I play in more than one band, and my main band plays 70+ tunes.

    With the bands, I rely on a "preset-per-song" approach. Each preset has the correct tempo set for that song. I program scenes for various parts within each song. My RJM controller lets me name scenes, which makes things a lot easier. Also, when I switch presets, the BandHelper app on my iPad switches along, displaying lyrics and notes. It's all automated and very handy when gigging. I'm not the only one doing this.

    With the III arriving, I can keep doing the same thing, but not until Global Blocks are implemented. Programming all those presets again without the help of Global Blocks would be a nightmare. ;-)

    Now, the alternative idea of sticking to merely a single (or a few) presets, using scenes and channels, is very tempting. But it forces a lot of tap dancing and/or tweaking between songs, scene names would not be song-specific, etc.

    I do see and propose a solution. It 's not expanding the number of scenes. It is: SONGS.

    A SONG simply is a set of 8 scenes, with a name (song name), linking to a single preset. For example, I could have 30 songs, each one linked to the same single preset. The preset and its effect blocks and its routing would not change (of course), but the scenes and their names would. The changes to the underlying architecture would be minor, with one exception: each song should have the ability to set the tempo.
     
    atquinn and unix-guy like this.
  19. xpenno

    xpenno
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    651
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Great demo, love this new feature!

    Your Les Paul sounds awesome thru those plexi amps.

    Which cabs are you using?

    Keep the demos coming
     

Share This Page