Axe-Fx III now my main rig. Others also running Helix and/or still holding on to it why do so?

ectoplasm88

Inspired
I've been using a Helix for several years and have just recently decided to switch to the Axe-Fx III as my main rig. It is not the first Fractal system I've owned but this will be the first time I've used a Fractal system as my main rig. I switched to the Helix years ago for the compact solution and usability it provided. The current Fractal line has addressed all those usability issues and I am fully blown away by the sounds I'm getting out of the unit. All of that being said I'm trying to decide if I should continue to hold on to the Helix or maybe sell it help balance out my spending. I'm wondering from other folk that are using the Axe-Fx and have a lot of experience with the Helix what gaps it is filling that you feel the Axe-Fx doesn't or in what other ways it is complementing your rig? What killer effect or feature that may not be fully realized yet in the Axe-Fx makes you hold on to it? I honestly love both units, once the next gen Line 6 modeler is released I'll probably get one. Basically I rotate through stuff. I'm also totally down with keeping both. I'm just wondering from others on here what your opinions are.

Thanks a bunch!

Paul

If it were me, the only reason I would keep it is if I were using a Variax, to be able to send pickup/tuning changes via foot control (and while you’re at it, you could use it as the foot controller for the Axe FX). There are a few people on this forum who use this setup.

I do also have a Variax and take advantage of the alternate tunings linked to various presets but I'd be cool with just manually flipping them on the Variax itself.