Axe-FX III MkII "live" tone does not match Logic Pro X recorded tone

Jayo

Hi, I am relatively new to Axe-FX 3. I have watched some tutorials and read through the manual. I think I can make my way around the device pretty well.

My major hurdle at this point is getting the recorded tone of the Axe-FX to precisely match what I hear as I play. I'm really enjoying experimenting with tones but when I playback the recorded material it is lacking the clarity and distinction of what I hear as I record. The recorded tone is lacking the dynamic range of sound. It sounds kind of "muddy" or maybe it's the sound of a compressed signal.

The VU meters for the latest Preset are well into the red hitting nearly 8 dB peaks but never maxing out. This seems to tell me that I had a strong enough signal to create a loud enough recording.

In an additional recording I turned down the Amp block to get the VU meter below the red line indicating the 0dB threshold in an attempt to make sure that I wasn't clipping the signal and this also yielded a recording that does not match.

There is a very distinct tone that I am using for reference in this particular recording and it's just not ringing through as well.

This has been something I have been aware of for a while now with various recordings.

I actually thought I resolved the problem because I had been recording in mono and lost sound quality that way. Recording in stereo gave better results but it's still just not right.

I'm hoping I'm just doing something wrong. Is my MacBook pro somehow the problem? It's relatively new and I had extra RAM installed to help handle my home studio needs. I have also recorded a single chord strike in a Logic file with only a single instrument track, so it's not a function of overloading the processor with too many tracks.

Are my expectations too high or is this user error? Has anyone else experienced this? If I can sort this out I'll be in home studio nirvana.