1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe-Fx III Firmware Version 2.05

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Jan 14, 2019.

  1. pauly

    pauly
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Victoria australia
    2112 likes this.
  2. 2112

    2112
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    10,192
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    For anyone who missed the beta release, there's also a new bass amp model based on the Ampeg Portaflex that isn't mentioned in the release notes. It sounds fantastic for fingerstyle bass stuff!

    Just checked and the cab block LF and HF damping are now working on all my patches; the new room/floor/diffusion section of the cab block is amazing now.
     
  3. Perdikament

    Perdikament
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    FL
    Yeah, I know I was in a rush to get the information out. Time & the spreading of information seemed a little more critical to me at that juncture.
     
    unix-guy likes this.
  4. pauly

    pauly
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Victoria australia
    New bass amp? Not in the release notes??
    What’s it called?
    Thanks for pointing out that!
    Pauly

     
    Jop vS likes this.
  5. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,904
    Likes Received:
    24,705
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    2112 likes this.
  6. AlGrenadine

    AlGrenadine
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    6,895
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    "Checking mailbox" : Didn't work ^^
     
  7. 200man

    200man
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    502
    Yes, but which Portaflex ? SB-12, B-15N, BT-15, PF-350. etc.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ampeg_Portaflex
     
  8. nicolasrivera

    nicolasrivera
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Honduras
    Massive release!
     
    2112 likes this.
  9. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    Outputs 3 and 4 are "unity gain" and have a different gain constant via the internal number representation than 1 and 2. They are designed for effects loop use, DI sends, etc. If you put 1V into Input 1 and route that to Output 3 and turn its Level knob to maximum you'll get 1V out. Everything is working as designed.
     
    REDD and bradlake like this.
  10. fractalz

    fractalz
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    537
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Sorry to keep being a pest, but I really want to understand this.

    IMHO, if the Out1 knob supplies 20dB of gain fully clockwise, I'd *still* expect the internal meter to reveal the pre-fader level (i.e. same signal routed to Out1 and Out3 register the same pre-fader level on the internal meter). I'd expect *some other* meter to reveal the post-fader level. Currently, a -10dBFS signal (per Out3) registers as well over +10dBFS on Out1 (i.e., the Out1 meter is pegged and non responsive).

    Why am I whining about this - I want to avoid internal clipping so I look at the Output meters when calibrating patches. The Out1 meter is useless IMO because it registers +20dB the actual internal signal and is, most times, pegged at +10dB and non-resonsive. It is not a reflection of the pre-fader level for signals going to Out1. It reflects a presumed fully-clockwise Output 1 knob which is adding some 20-ish dB to the reading.

    What if I route 1V to In3 -> Out1. The Out1 meter won't read 1V, it'll read that plus the 20db analog gain stage (or, now are you going to tell me it's a digital gain stage <brain explodes>?)...

    Ok, I'll calm down now and drink my coffee ;)
     
  11. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    The meters on the front panel are the post-fader meters. The meters in the block are pre-fader. The red line on the meters in the block indicate -12 dBFS.
     
    shatteredsquare and AlGrenadine like this.
  12. fractalz

    fractalz
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    537
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ok, but if the block meters are all pre fader, why don’t they read the same when fed with the same signal?

    Where does the ~20dB step up for Output1 happen? Before the "pre-fader" meter?

    Do you also observe that patches at a reasonable level peg the Output1 block meters?
     
  13. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    There is no "20 dB step up". Outputs 3 and 4 are designed for "unity gain". They are intended for use as unity gain effect loops or DI sends, etc.

    None of my patches peg the meters in the output block. If yours do then your levels are way too hot.
     
  14. Gregmang

    Gregmang
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    The new Axe Edit has been released - thx FAS,

    Of course now I gotta figure out what all the stuff does on the “Align” tab. Not sure I understand what I’m doing when I move any of the graphical representation of alignment.
     
  15. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    The graphs show the first 128 samples of the IRs. When engineers/producers record cabs in the studio they go to great pains to make sure the mics are time-aligned. A shift of just a few mm can make a big difference.

    In the virtual world we can do the same thing. The graphs show the time series and you can adjust the virtual distance of the microphones to change their time alignment.
     
  16. Gregmang

    Gregmang
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    1,498

    Thank you Sir !


    New stuff to play with !
     
  17. Tonic

    Tonic
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    465
    XFormer match doesn't work well for me...
    It was a very powerful setting before but now it s really subtle...
    Is that normal?
     
  18. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    It's working fine here. Check to make sure you didn't turn off power amp modeling (either locally or globally).
     
    Rain likes this.
  19. Tahoebrian5

    Tahoebrian5
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    1,977
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Anyone tried the new analog compressor?
     
  20. muudrock

    muudrock
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Cleveland, Uh Hi Ya
    Can't seem to update from 2.05 beta. Anyone else have this problem? I have tried deleting and re downloading the firmware from the OP, and also downloading through FractalBot. I've tried 3 different USB cables, all high quality, 2 of which are brand new. Have tried the Emergency Recovery method as well. Get's 100% done and then I get a message on the Axe III if an "Invalid Message Length" error.??
    Any suggestions??
     

Share This Page