1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe-Fx III Dimensions and Weight

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by Admin M@, Jan 29, 2018.

  1. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22,486
    Likes Received:
    14,135
    i think the question was about what kind of rack case to buy, if 3u would be enough clearance for airflow etc.

    generally speaking, if you use a 3u case for 3u gear, it is fine. the manufacturer would probably specifically state to use something with more room.
     
    mikeransom likes this.
  2. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11,923
    Likes Received:
    74,777
    Less than an Axe-Fx II.
     
  3. artzeal

    artzeal
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    482
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I do mean rack case for toting about. Sorry I didn't make that clear. For example: The 1U Apollo 8 gets warm enough I include an empty space above and below. Many studios have a space between rack mounted units as a matter of course, even when not strictly necessary. But if the Axe FX III goes solo on a hot date: I want to make sure it has adequate protection.

    Sweet! Good to know.
     
  4. Axeman

    Axeman
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    469
    So will Edge finally consolidate to just one Axe III and get rid of everything else, or will he buy 10 Axe IIIs? ;-)
     
    wezx and jefferski like this.
  5. xprophet

    xprophet
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    256
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Merry
    my iPhone has Amplitude which is even smaller...sounds like shite but so portable you can stick them almost anywhere...
     
  6. FreeMind

    FreeMind
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    483
    Bias Mini has a power amp built in and requires no additional hardware.
     
  7. nicolasrivera

    nicolasrivera
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    2,591
    Location:
    Honduras
    problem is the software....
     
    brianv4 and Sustainerplayer like this.
  8. 1poorplayer

    1poorplayer
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    .....The look makes me think of my old adats. ( Just a little , not to be offensive )
    Good times back then....
     
    Phil emptiness.be likes this.
  9. TheOtherDave

    TheOtherDave
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    25
    That’s how I would interpret the question.
     
  10. NeoSound

    NeoSound
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    2,142
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Any info on the foot controller dimensions? Hopefully the larger one will still fit inside a rack case/drawer.
     
  11. edo

    edo
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    820
    Location:
    Napoli, IT
    Any news about the fc's dimensions?
     
  12. edo

    edo
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    820
    Location:
    Napoli, IT
    Al least 2 (plus 2 for backup, so total 4) minimum! And for axe fx2 as backups of the ax3 backups :D
     
  13. Alexis

    Alexis
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Austria
  14. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,328
    Likes Received:
    8,335
  15. Alexis

    Alexis
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Austria
    well, the lid gives you around 4-5cm more as far as I know. so as long as the unit doesn't stick out from the rack I guess you can still leave the plugs connected.
     
  16. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,328
    Likes Received:
    8,335
    That's cutting it pretty close. The Axe III is about 25.5 cm from the back of the rack ear to the read input jack. A standard TS plug is about 4.3 cm (Neutriks are significantly longer). That's 29.8 cm total. On the link you posted, you have 31.2 ch from the front rail to the back lid. That leaves 1.4 cm for your cable to be bent 90° by the back lid, and that's risking failure of your cable. That much stress on the cable would also risk damage to the plug and jack. You face a similar issue with the power plug and MIDI cables.

    It might work if you cut off your cables. :) Or 90° plugs might work.
     
    biskitboy likes this.
  17. Alexis

    Alexis
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Austria
    ah well yeah, I had to mention using 90° plugs from Neutrik or getting some SIS from Evidence Audio.
    thanks for clarifying the exact measurements. 25.5cm is pretty good.
     
    biskitboy likes this.
  18. biskitboy

    biskitboy
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    431
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Building a similar setup with the 4RU SKB shallow. Using all right angle connections with a patch bay on the side. The patch bay is 2xXLR's, 1 Faslink, 1xTRS input (To mix with IEMs), USB, power. I'll always leave the rear panel attached unless something breaks.

    My magic 8-ball says it's all going to fit. :)

     
  19. Alexis

    Alexis
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Austria
    well done sir, this looks tasty
     
    biskitboy likes this.
  20. jarabuandi

    jarabuandi
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    BNE - Australia

    That's nice! Did you drill a hole for each plug?
     
    biskitboy likes this.

Share This Page