Axe FX II with an external audio interface

Tom1383

I've just got my very first Axe FX II, and I try to set it up for recording, reamping, etc.

I have a Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 external audio interface. After reading through many topics here, I can see a bit clearer, but I'm still not sure about the setup options.

My questions are the following:

1) I'd like to use my headphones for simultaneously listening to the Axe sound AND listening to the PC sound (e.g. the other tracks of the DAW, or for jamming over a YouTube backing track with the Axe, etc.) What are the options for that, both with and without an external audio interface?

2) If I would use the Scarlett 2i4 as the sound card, then does it mean that the sound quality from the Axe will become worse because of the extra set of conversions? (I mean the A/D and D/A conversions in the Scarlett audio interface, I'm not an expert in this field.)

3) If the answer of question 2) is no, i.e. the sound quality remains high when the Axe signal runs through the Scarlett, then what kind of cable(s) shall I use for connecting the Axe to the Scarlett 2i4? (While maintaining the lowest possible latency and the lowest possible noise.)

4) I know that the Axe records at 48k instead of 44.1k, when recording directly with it, via USB. But if the Axe signal goes through the Scarlett, is the signal converted to 44.1k?

5) When using the Axe-->Scarlett-->PC route, can I still record both the wet and the dry signals of the Axe? Or is it only possible through the direct USB method?

and finally

6) When using the Axe-->Scarlett-->PC route, can I still reamp with the Axe?

Thanks a lot in advance for these answers. I'm very excited to finally have an Axe, and looking forward to start recording with it.

1: You should be able to hear Windows audio in addition to audio from your DAW.