Axe-FX II: Voodoo Chile!

Thanks SO much for the E-130!!

Hi Gamedojo

I have been using JBL E-130s almost exclusively since around 1980, I now have 6 and have tried several times to make an IR that distills the great characteristics of the speaker, but so far I've not been happy with the results. Your IR however is excellent!! No nasty peaks- and it displays the neutral-ish but flattering quality that the E-130 brings to everything.... a brilliant all round useful cab.
GREAT Work -Thank You!

Would you mind sharing the details of the power amp and cab (size/open/closed?) and the mic and recording position you used to capture the IR? I would really appreciate it!

Many many thanks

Jezza

Hi Gamedojo

I have been using JBL E-130s almost exclusively since around 1980, I now have 6 and have tried several times to make an IR that distills the great characteristics of the speaker, but so far I've not been happy with the results. Your IR however is excellent!! No nasty peaks- and it displays the neutral-ish but flattering quality that the E-130 brings to everything.... a brilliant all round useful cab.
GREAT Work -Thank You!

Would you mind sharing the details of the power amp and cab (size/open/closed?) and the mic and recording position you used to capture the IR? I would really appreciate it!

Many many thanks

Jezza

Glad it worked out for you! Yeah, that speaker is a key element to stevie's tone. ever since I found a 1981 pic of his vibroverbs from behind showing the E130s It was a game changer. killer speakers.

Power amp is a cheap VLP300 by american audio. Not good for playing live, but a very neutral power amp. I used an SM57 halfway between the cone and the edge pushing against the grill. Cab was simply my vibroverb amp I built. So open back. I made sure to put the cab in the middle of the room to avoid any back reflections (Big tip with these speakers, they have crazy high frequency reflections from behind so amps with them against walls sound harsh.)