1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Axe-Fx II "Quantum" Rev 9.00 Beta

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Sep 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ertan

    ertan
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    283
    Location:
    Turkey
    I think this time I'll be able to put the changes I hear into sentences: What I hear is a more controlled sound, not boomy or spiky, but still reaining the body and the brightness. The upper freqs aren't fizzy, but furry (in a good meaning, it sounds more natural now, tube amps definitely have that) IMO, if it means anything.

    I was using speaker drive to control these lows/highs (it was set to 0.5), now I'm using spk. comp. on 5 instead. Even more controlled, but sill tight.

    This time, even I will be able to get good tones IMO :)
     
    xprophet, marcor66 and BillyZeppa like this.
  2. nojyeloot

    nojyeloot
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Mansfield, TX
    Thank you both.
     
  3. CodeStation

    CodeStation
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    125
    Suh....WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET

    Those IIC+ settings are *it* - I have that cab pack. Love it love it love it. TY
     
    bradlake likes this.
  4. artzeal

    artzeal
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    "...Number nine, ... number nine ... they are standing still ... "
     
  5. Wolfenstein98k

    Wolfenstein98k
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    719
    I said this with 8.02, but I was happy before this update. No need for more.

    Then you go and do this, and it's better, and I'm baffled.

    Cliff I don't understand how you make the response spongier, without losing (hell, even strengthening) the percussive attack. It's bizarre because I've always felt a good tone was a balance of those two things, usually with a sacrifice. This update seems to have added both.

    Cool, dude.
     
  6. FlavAnderson

    FlavAnderson
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    158
    Cliff, please don't delete Motor Drive from the Cab Block!!!!!!!!!!! I use both Outputs of the Axe FX as intended, Output 1 to FOH Mixer, and Output 2 to my Power Amp and Speaker Cab on stage. I don't particularly use the Motor rive in the Amp Block, but do so in the Cab Block. Thanx, Flav!
     
  7. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    Okay.
     
  8. jlynnb1

    jlynnb1
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    3,032
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Cliff please add the EF86 channel from the DC30!!!!!!!!!! it's the best channel on the amp!!!!!!! Thanx, jlynnb1

    (it was worth a shot, lol)
     
  9. ThelmoRego

    ThelmoRego
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    128
    It is required when using a SS amp, the SS amp does not have a transformer to interact with the speaker, this models it. its only not needed if using a tube power amp.
     
  10. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    It wouldn't be hard except we'd need six models, one for each position of the rotary switch.
     
  11. Chronos

    Chronos
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    525
    Only half of it is for a solid state amp. The motor drive half already happens naturally, and to be frank it doesn't sound great combining it with a real cab. The transformer grind part does sound good though I think used with a real cab and solid state power amp.
     
  12. NickCapp

    NickCapp
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Davie, FL
    Worth it.
     
  13. Brownmatthall

    Brownmatthall
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Location:
    New Yawk
    agreed!
     
    xprophet and Josetxu like this.
  14. Andy G

    Andy G
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I only ever went between 2 settings on the rotary switch with my dc-30 clone. It was either 3, 4 or 5 I think. The two extreme settings weren't very usable for me. I'd be happy with only the middle 3 or 4 settings personally. Don't know what others think. But I would also love the EF86 channel to be modelled. I still miss my DC-30 at times, and the normal channel just doesn't do it.
     
    xprophet, jesussaddle, Smilzo and 2 others like this.
  15. improb_driver

    improb_driver
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    163
    Shot in the dark: one model, six tonestacks?
     
  16. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    They aren't tonestacks. The switch selects the coupling capacitor between the EF86 and the volume pot.
     
  17. Fenderbendr

    Fenderbendr
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    184
    +1 on the EF86 channel on the DC30. If we can have 6 different models of the Cpt Hook, JVM, Cameron CCV, ODS, the Splawn, and a few others, than I think we DC30 lovers can have 6 channels as well, if there's enough space left in the unit of course. Lol
     
    Rocket Brother, Josetxu and unix-guy like this.
  18. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    85,437
    There's plenty of room for more models.
     
  19. electronpirate

    electronpirate
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    4,253
    PLEASE don't turn this into the wish list....
     
  20. cobbler

    cobbler
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,538
    Likes Received:
    4,645
    Location:
    The desert
    Is that a wish? :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page