Meisoshi

Hi all, new Axe-Fx user here.
I'm having some issues with Logic Pro - whenever I open it with the Axe-Fx II running (USB connection to computer) the Axe-Fx flashes 'Bypassed' and no sound is produced. My setup is guitar to front Axe-Fx input, Axe-fx acting as interface with USB connection to computer, and then just using standard headphones from the computer (3.5mm jack).
I've been using this for a few months and have never had this problem. I also have an MFC 101 Mk III connected to the Axe-Fx.
So far I have checked Logic's audio preferences to ensure audio input (Axe-Fx II) and output (External Headphone) were correct. I've tried hitting the bypass button which simply stops the flashing but does not allow sound. The Axe-Fx input lights seem to register the guitar being played but not sound is produced. When I turn off the axe-f and restart it with the logic session open I got about 2-3 seconds of sound when played (though it sounded distorted as though there was a problem with the sample rate). If I shut logic and the Axe-fx down there is no change when I restart them.

Any help would be appreciated, I'm really at a loss. I have in the past had issues where audio recorded from the Axe-Fx into logic would play back crackly, distorted, and at a faster tempo - I suspect this was a sample rate problem but it spontaneously resolved in the past.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

when logic opens, it sends a bunch of midi reset commands.

one fix is to set the axe fx to midi channel 2

the other fix is to get into logic's settings and turn off all the midi commands it send out

Thanks - my midi commands were already turned off in Logic so I swapped Axe-Fx to Midi channel 2... however:
  • The Axe-Fx is now 1 preset out of sync with the MFC101 footcontrol (E.g. Axe-Fx displays and places preset 72 but preset 73 is displayed on the MFC)
  • Many of my presets that were previously okay are now clipping the output