Axe fx 2 with tube power amp & cab question

I'm just wondering how people go about setting up tones with a tube tube power and cab. I appreciate the this set up isn't as popular however still would like to hear from those who run there axe this way. I have found I get a good sound at low volume but seems to crap out at rehearsal. I'm running into a mesa 2/50/2 and mesa cab. I saw between the buried and me recently and they were running this set up and it sounded awesome.

Thanks in advance

I am pretty new to the Axe FX world but I have this type of setup. I run my Ultra through my buddy's Mesa Coliseum 300 (amazing!) with a Mesa Oversized Cab. The best results I have had for tones are with the Cab Sims turned off and just dialing in from there. Try dialing in your tones at rehearsal volumes for the best results. Tube amps don't really come to life until you crank them up.

+1 power amp sims left on. I run Mesa 2-90 and Mesa cabs. I did the same as you had a good bedroom sound going on, then went to practice and it was terrible. i was kinda taken back by the amount of adjustment i had to do to get a good sound. Well, i ended up with a great sound but i did have to do a bit of tweaking. I eventually just started with a blank patch and added what i like now i'm happy. But the Axe is really not just a plug and play, you'll need to put some time in and experiment.

oh yeah..+1 on Building your patches at gig/practice volumes. I found that a lot of the factory patches had way too much gain in them.

You got to leave poweramps on- poweramps like the 290 have so much power/headroom it's impossible to get any natural saturation out of them- and some marshall sounds rely entirely on poweramp section for its distortion.