Axe 3 with LiveLoop

ZenX

I'm trying to use the Axe 3 with an app called LiveLoop which is live looping software. It runs as a standalone on Mac so I am thinking I would take the audio from the Axe 3 and send it to the Mac laptop via SPDIF via a simple USB audio device; then take the output from LiveLoop and route it back into the Axe 3 using USB / "USB in block". I was wondering if anyone could assess this routing and perhaps recommend a simple, but high quality USB audio interface with SPDIF (that is not too expensive). If anyone has done anything similar and could offer some insight it would be really appreciated as I’m new to Axe 3 and want to make sure I have this together before I purchase additional hardware.

(One bonus is that when I get the Mac successfully integrated with the Axe 3 then I can use Pro Tools to playback backing tracks through USB into the Axe 3. Extra bonus points if anyone can tell me how to Start / Stop playback in Pro Tools using the FC-12, which I also just got). ;). Thanks.

1: Mac USB out to Axe 3
2: Setup the Axe 3 looper on your FC-12
3: Set-up the Axe 3 as the primary interface in protools
Nothing else is needed.

Thanks, but look more closely at the routing I described; and I will not be using the Axe 3 Looper.

Okay. Using an external usb interface isnt needed at all. i Use a MacBook Pro USB direct to the Axe 3. The USB is two way communication. I play and record with backing tracks simultaneously with Logic Pro X. It’s all about how you set-up internal routing on the axe 3. Study the routing and you’ll see just how flexible and powerful it is. As far as starting and stopping Protools from the FC-12, you could do it using midi commands. I don’t see the point unless it’s for a live setting. Good old space bar works for me, and doesn’t use up footswitch real estate