AX8 vs Axe-Fx II - How Do You Decide?

All of my research seems to indicate that the AX8 is perfect for me as far as dialing up all the tones I could think to come up with and then some. Cost is less and I am a hobby guitarist, open mic, etc. Maybe a band someday.

But how do most decide on needing the Axe-Fx II over the AX8? Dual Amps, touring, playing live in a band?

Thanks

P.S. Where is Fractal's offices?

you decide based on what you want and need. if the Ax8 does everything you think you'll need it to, there's no reason to drop twice as much on the II and MFC. If you think you'll want dual amps or crazy patches with every block imaginable the 8 won't cut it. portability is a huge factor as well, obviously.

All of my research seems to indicate that the AX8 is perfect for me as far as dialing up all the tones I could think to come up with and then some. Cost is less and I am a hobby guitarist, open mic, etc. Maybe a band someday.

But how do most decide on needing the Axe-Fx II over the AX8? Dual Amps, touring, playing live in a band?

Thanks

P.S. Where is Fractal's offices?
For your needs at the moment from what you describe the AX8 will be perfect!! Graduate to the AXE-FX later perhaps when things start moving along. Mind you though a lot of pro guys who gig regularly are more than happy with the AX8.

I had AFXII before and switched to AX8. Reason for that was the compact size and footswitches in the AX8. It still has all* the same quality amps, cabs and effects, that AFXII does. I haven't regret the switch at all.

I mostly need
1. A good high gain rhythm tone. That is easily done with the AX8.
2. A good clean tone with beatiful delay and reverb. Easily done!
3. A Big ambient clean tone. This is where i need to do some compromises. I get there, but i need to lower the cab block from Ultra res to normal res and reverb quality from high to normal.