AX 8 Newbie Question

deakle

Experienced
Long time Axe FX user, but as I am awaiting my Axe FX III, I am considering picking up a used AX 8. But I am a little confused as I scan Reverb I am seeing used items going for around $1200, yet a brand new one from FAS is currently selling for a little over $1000. What am I missing? Has something changed with the newer ones or are the used items just priced high? Sorry in advance if this is a dumb question, but like I said I am new to the AX 8 world. Thanks!

I can't speak for the market, but the "old" and "new" AX8 are the same thing. Just the firmware will likely need to be updated (if you are already familiar with FAS txt is easy). If the old owner kept it current then there is no need to update. Personally, I'd just get a new one so I would be the original owner and get the warranty. For a gigging guitarist, the AX8 is da bomb. Really in demand and holds the value. Just my $0.02.

When FAS switched from manufacturing in USA to China, they dropped the price. Those used ones may be USA-made.

are you joking about it being manufactured in china? my guess would be they are price gouging because fractal units are on back order so often.

just looked at the fractal website and they are definitely still made in the USA. The price has dropped at lot since release. They started out at like 1400. My guess they have had to be very competitive because of the helix and other floor units around the same price point.

“Old” ones had final assembly in the USA of overseas parts, how “made in the USA” hat technically is depends on the owners way of thinking...

As for pricing, many of those have been listed for months, and obviously still haven’t sold. Those guys may not even know there was a price drop

Likewise, they may know, and as currently out of stock, they raise the price up

Want it now? Buy a used one at a premium. Able to wait a few weeks, but new at a better price