Audio Interface 2021: Focusrite vs Presonus

Stratman68

Axe-Master
Yes I know I can use my Fractal gear but I prefer using external interfaces. since forever.

Looking at the Focusrite and Presonus stuff in the $500\$600 price range. Preamps are irrelevant for my purpose but I know they all have them.
I have no experience with either of these.
Any opinions?
Thanks

Well, yeah, mic pre's is the whole point to buying one of these, so that's what you're paying for :). Anyway, in that price range, for a small project studio recording a couple of inputs with USB, there's not much difference in quality between them. They're both quite good. For use with an Axe-FX, I'd suggest getting one with spdif in and out, for example an 8i6 or an 1824C. Choose by the features you want and I'm sure you'll be happy with either.

OK Thanks
The reason mic pres don't matter to me is I have a Wave Mic pre that I really like and use with my recording mic. I only record my own vocals. But then again I am a Guitar player certainly not a recording guru so what do I know-not much.

I value the opinion of both you guys so I am going to get the Focusrite 18i20. More than I need probably but I would rather have more than less-who knows what the future holds.
I am hoping the software interface for the focusrite is as user friendly as what I am use to-mainly the Echo stuff. I will be so happy to remove the pci to pci-e bridge I have been using to accomadate the Echo Layla 3G PCi card. My Asus A370 Prime MB does not have the old PCi slots.

Thanks guys

Got to say the 3rd Gen Scarlett 18i20 really surprised me. Just recently tracked a couple Acoustic guitar takes with a single SM57 (I know) and using the "AIR" option it really gave me a nice-bodied sound with enough crisp in the strumming parts that I really liked for a "not recorded on a pro-acoustic-treated studio with a really nice condenser mic" take.