Atomic CLR = Sonic bliss !!! In depth review

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket Brother

Power User
CLR in depth review, pro use, multible applications and scenarios

Hi guys, as promised here’s my review of the Atomic Amps CLR Active wedge.
It’s taken a little longer than originally promised, as I’ve had some things to attend to in my private life.
This will be a long post - sorry - but I hope anybody interested in the CLRs will find the review useful and interesting.

A little context before the review. I’m a professional guitarist and have made my living as such for more than 20 years now. I’ve been lucky enough to play with some outstanding musicians during this time and have earlier in my career toured both sides of the Atlantic as a sideman. Since I became a father I haven’t strayed too far from home for extended periods. I do mostly live work backing a couple of recording artists, but I also do a fair share of studio work, and I’m getting a little into mixing too.
I mostly play straight classic rock and blues-rock but also do a little funky and “top 40” type modern pop-rock.
As a “gun for hire” I’ve always needed a rounded arsenal of sounds and as such have owned a boatload of choice guitars, tube amplifiers, cabinets, pedals and outboard effects.
For electrics I mostly play strats, teles, ES 330 and ES 335/345’s and on rare occasions an LP. For acoustics I mainly use a one-off Custom Shop Martin D-style with some twists and 2 Gibson J45 True Vintage’s, all fitted with LR Baggs Anthem systems.
Amp wise I’ve mostly been going for vintage flavored amps and the true and tried classics of tweed Fenders, BF Fenders, vintage Marshalls, Comet Concorde, Skrydstryp OD50, Carr Rambler, and a CbC ODS clone, but have also had more modern hi-gain amps such as a Skrydstrup SD50 and a Soldano SLO in heavy rotation. I own or have owned quite a few more of both guitars and amps, but those mentioned above are what have been at the core of my arsenal for years.