1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone use Input Dynamics?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Jan 4, 2019.

?

Do you use Input Dynamics in the Amp block?

  1. No

    107 vote(s)
    70.4%
  2. Yes

    45 vote(s)
    29.6%
  1. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,882
    Likes Received:
    5,118
    Problem with a realistic vs tweaker mode I can see is what if you want just one specific parameter thst didn’t exist ?

    What if I could really use a mids knob on a Fender model thst didn’t have one ? Then do I need to start messing with PEQ blocks etc to give me what actually would of been easy and basic in the tweaker firmware ?

    Sometimes less control can make things more complicated.

    Also, just because something is basic doesn’t mean it subjectively sounds good to everyone. Look at all the univibe pedals on the market.

    Does a retro vibe sound the same as a drybell or a fulltone ? They all have the same basic controls, but you cant just plug any one of them into a Marshall and get “that sound” as they all sound different. Thus, people end up buying and selling until they find soemthing that works for their guitar, their taste etc.

    I need to tweak like 10 things to get a vibe sound I like, so I’m glad the parameters are there, but I’d be happy if the default sounded good to me, but that is such a subjective thing no one is going to agree on.
     
    Axehole, DLC86, Syrinx and 1 other person like this.
  2. 666was999

    666was999
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    Germany, Saarland
    Parameters in the axe-fx are sorted by their technical place in the amp now. They are categorized as part of the preamp, poweramp, cathode follower and so on.
    So when you want to tweak the lows you need to remember where the most important parameters for your task are. It's a puzzle.

    Thinking the other way round from a musicians point if view we'd need a different way of sorting.
    We'd need a knob to bring up all parameters that are able to taylor the lows, mids, highs so we coukd tweak lows, mids, highs without searching in every page.
     
    gitfruit likes this.
  3. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19,433
    Likes Received:
    9,250

    Tonight I gave Input Dynamics a serious spin. Set it between 2 and 3 — there's that almost-scary dynamic, cracking response that I got with the South Saturn Delta. It turns a sweet, lyrical tone into a weapon. When set to negative values, it opens the door to whatever amount of singing sustain you want. So yeah, I cast my "Yes!" vote.
     
    King’s X - Jason likes this.
  4. reclavea

    reclavea
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    417
    Location:
    USA
    Wow! :)
     
  5. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19,433
    Likes Received:
    9,250
    It can get extreme, too. Dial in an edge-of-breakup tone, and try cranking Input Dynamics all the way up. Pick lightly, and feel the gentle wash of sweetness. :cool: Then pick hard, and feel the output transformer smash through your teeth. :eek:
     
  6. DLC86

    DLC86
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    Sicilia - Italia
    Yep, tones open up dramatically without losing too much gain.
    I usually use this parameter to compensate for the slight lack of dynamic on my Antares ATG guitar models, I think it's really useful for those using this kind of simulations (variax, roland, etc.)
     
    Piing, PKasaty and Rex like this.
  7. stereotactic

    stereotactic
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    125
    Of course, as soon as I started fiddling and thinking more about it, I realized there’s all sorts of interplay between the Dynamic Presence, Dynamic Depth, Input Dynamics AND the power amp parameters. It’s really something how when you get them all working together, you get something...very dynamic. Even more so than any real amp I’ve played through!
     
    King’s X - Jason and reclavea like this.
  8. reclavea

    reclavea
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    417
    Location:
    USA
    Whoa!!!! :flushed: :hushed::smile:
     
    King’s X - Jason likes this.
  9. #69 King’s X - Jason, Jan 8, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
    King’s X - Jason

    King’s X - Jason
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Austin, TX. Y’all
    NICE... that is really sweet to hear and pretty incredible that you get a similar feel. Thank you!
     
  10. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,444
    Likes Received:
    23,861
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    But remember: the COMP block can deliver exactly the same results.
     
    2112, Piing, FPFL and 2 others like this.
  11. #71 King’s X - Jason, Jan 8, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
    King’s X - Jason

    King’s X - Jason
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Austin, TX. Y’all
    Yes, I think that was mentioned earlier but is this not a one knob version of that functionality?

    Last night, I meant to try this again on JCM800 preset I’ve been enjoying over the past couple of nights. I ended up playing for hours lost in tone and completely forgot to.

    DOH!
     
  12. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19,433
    Likes Received:
    9,250
    Yes, but as long as Input Dynamics is available, I won’t be adding any Comp blocks for this purpose. ;)
     
    vangrieg and yek like this.
  13. vangrieg

    vangrieg
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    871
    Now it looks like the best feature ever! :)
     
    ∞Fractals and yek like this.
  14. Klausi

    Klausi
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Heidelberg / Germany
    I changed my vote to Yes. Never had an eye on it before. It is great to play with it and hear the different influence on the guitar volume pot. Do not remove it!
     
    King’s X - Jason likes this.
  15. yyz67

    yyz67
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Creator: "Does anyone see the Pink Elephant I put in the room?"

    "No, I don't believe in them. I stick with normal life parameters."
    "I didn't even know there was one!"
    "I took a note of it but never got back to it."
    "I wonder what a PE will do to my life (my tone)..."
    "There are too many things in the room already!"
    "Stop complaining about having more things in the room."
    "Stop complaining about complaining."
    "No one's making you see the PE if you don't want to."
    "Please hide it."
    "We need a 'Realistic Room' and an 'Imaginary Room' setting before we even enter the room..."
    "A Purple Dragon guarding the room can deliver the same results..."
    "Yes, but as long as the PE exists, I won’t be adding any PD's for this purpose."
    "Well, now that you pointed it out, not only is there a PE, it is the best entity ever!"
    "Do NOT remove it!"
     
    Ba55Man1ac and vangrieg like this.
  16. vangrieg

    vangrieg
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    871
    Let’s start a petition on change.org or something. Our favorite feature is going away, we can’t just sit and watch!!!
     
    Piing likes this.
  17. #77 Piing, Jan 9, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
    Piing

    Piing
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,176
    Likes Received:
    1,138
    Location:
    Thailand
    I've never used it, but I am starting to feel anxiety. Better than change.org, we should start a crowdfunding to design and build an external hardware pedal. Our sanity cannot depend on the volatility of a software feature.

    :D
     
  18. vangrieg

    vangrieg
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    871
    Great idea. I’m off to setting up an account on Cayman Islands...
     
  19. King’s X - Jason

    King’s X - Jason
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Austin, TX. Y’all
    If it can be replicated elsewhere and you do have a killer new feature I suppose the case could be made to remove it to make way for the new feature. I’d rather that those complaining about excessive parameters were not driving though... It is easy enough to skip over items you don’t use. However it’s impossible to use features that have been removed. Like “Character” for example. {cough}

    Just giving you a hard time on that last one!
     
    DLC86 likes this.
  20. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9,868
    Likes Received:
    5,861
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    There are many features that have been added to the Amp block in particular specifically so you don't need to add another block.

    Output Compressor
    Input Dynamics
    Input EQ
    Boost (and later, boost types)
    Etc, etc...
     

Share This Page