1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone use Input Dynamics?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Jan 4, 2019.

?

Do you use Input Dynamics in the Amp block?

  1. No

    108 vote(s)
    70.6%
  2. Yes

    45 vote(s)
    29.4%
  1. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,850
    Likes Received:
    84,525
    Do you use Input Dynamics in the Amp block?
     
  2. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,582
    Likes Received:
    5,389
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Haven't even checked that one out yet.:confused: So many 'Advanced' parameters, so little time.
     
    dongzo likes this.
  3. shemihazazel

    shemihazazel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    999
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    You're cooking up a consolidated parameter aren't you.:smilingimp:
     
    zenaxe likes this.
  4. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,991
    Likes Received:
    5,339
    Didn’t even know that was a parameter honestly
     
  5. greiswig

    greiswig
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    567
    Actually, it's a pretty cool thing: you can get low and mid gain amps to have a LOT of sustain on them, and it still seems to preserve the pick attack pretty well. I don't use it all the time, but for some things it rocks.
     
  6. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10,448
    Likes Received:
    6,312
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Voted no... I did experiment with this once and made a mental note to revisit later, but never have ;)
     
  7. notalemming

    notalemming
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    785
    I use it once in a while but it’s not something I’m dependent on.
     
  8. dpeterson

    dpeterson
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    2,876
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    The Anti Suck knob.
     
  9. DLC86

    DLC86
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Location:
    Sicilia - Italia
    I use it from time to time but.. Isn't it just an expander in front of the amp?
    Those of us who use it could just replace it with a gate or comp (dynamics type) I think.
     
  10. shemihazazel

    shemihazazel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    999
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    talentpedal_zpsf167d07c.jpg

    [​IMG]
     
    dongzo, haffner1, rushfan and 3 others like this.
  11. NeoSound

    NeoSound
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,545
    Likes Received:
    2,615
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Have used it but not a necessity. I have a feeling this next firmware is a humdinger! :)
     
  12. Semih Yanyali

    Semih Yanyali
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Los Angeles - Munich
    I feel like 3rd Amp Block is on it's way and these questions about amp block parameters are about it.
     
  13. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,850
    Likes Received:
    84,525
    The Dynamics type in the Compressor block is the same thing with more control.
     
    dongzo, GtarLover, lp59 and 6 others like this.
  14. Tom Morris

    Tom Morris
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Florida
    I do use this quite a bit but not adjusted vary high. I am kind of surprised that not many people seem to use this. By this latest round of Do You questions about the dynamics section of the amp block its sounds like your looking for places to trim CPU usage so you can add that third amp? Or an Amp player block.
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  15. vangrieg

    vangrieg
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,985
    Likes Received:
    874
    Cast my vote hoping you’re right.

    If it turns out to be something different, it’s your fault! :)
     
  16. reclavea

    reclavea
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    USA
    Seems to me the AxeIII was conceived "premeditated" with a 3rd or possibly 4th Amp block and has the capacity I would think. :D:D

    Cliff possibly streamlining redundancy or the like. ...May be?:rolleyes:

    ps. Now interested in taking a closer look at that parameter :eek:....voted no btw
     
    zenaxe likes this.
  17. #17 zenaxe, Jan 5, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2019
    zenaxe

    zenaxe
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    1,881
    Hope we are not already significantly resource constrained. :-/ I assumed it is addressing people’s complaints, re complexity. The parameters would still exist under the hood, I would think, so I am not sure if eliminating the user control helps anything other than maybe preset size/format and UI complexity...

    All these threads are doing is making me want to use more of the deep editing parameters... they all sound cool.
     
    reclavea likes this.
  18. Perdikament

    Perdikament
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    958
    Location:
    FL
    I use it a fair amount but now that I know that the Dynamics Processor in the Compressor Block is even better.. well that’s fantastic.
     
  19. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,850
    Likes Received:
    84,525
    Nothing to do with resource constraints. These Keystone processors chew through data like a hot chainsaw through a sorority girl. The Axe-Fx III is a beast. I don't think people realize how powerful it is. It has the equivalent power of 8 SHARC chips, at least. And that's just the DSP. The memory bus is 3-4 times faster than other stuff.

    I've created an algorithm that tightens the bass as you play lower notes. I want to add it to the amp block but people are starting to complain about the excessive number of parameters so I was thinking maybe I could replace one of the controls on the dynamics page with this if no one was using it.
     
    LordGold3, skunc, dongzo and 34 others like this.
  20. CipherHost

    CipherHost
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Monroe, NC
    @FractalAudio - No one is forcing folks to make adjustments under the hood. Make as many bells and whistles your genius mind can imagine.
     
    Sturla, Darryl, Larry Kehl and 8 others like this.

Share This Page