Any guys here mess with a Helix?

Jvstrat

Experienced
Let me start by saying I have been a happy Axe 2 owner since 2013, but sometimes I get stuck in the rabbit hole trying to create new tones. I was thinking about getting a helix lt as a backup, lazy man rig when I don’t feeling like bringing a rack and mfc, and as an effects board for my amps. I would get an Axe 8, but the interest free financing on the helix makes it very tempting. Any Axe users also use the helix and if so how do you like it?

I had a Helix to play with for a short time. On the plus side, it's fun and intuitive to work with. The effects are very good. On the minus side, the amp sounds were hit or miss for me. I didn't hate it, but I didn't keep it either.

I wonder about the headrush? It’s basically a newer eleven rack. I had the eleven rack before the fractal and it had some great tones.

I have been using a Helix for a couple of years in a worship band. VERY user-friendly and portable. Even the backpack was great! The hardware as a user interface is fantastic. BUT I never got anything out of it that I thought sounded really great. It was totally fine but just fine. The other guitar player used an Amplifire and it sounded much better. It was harder to use as far as patch organization switching.

I sold my Axe Fx II Xl. Went to Helix Native. Then Waves PRS Supermodels. Then I bought the Axe Fx III. :D

It got some nice features. And I like some of the sounds. The SLO-model is very good. But over all the Axe smokes it.

I might be biased. I might be a fanboi. But I'm right.

I tried Helix Native. Awful. I was amazed at how bad it sounded and felt. Seriously, it was terrible. I don't know if the hardware unit uses the same algorithms. If so, I don't see how Line 6 could sell them.

I had the opportunity to play one for hours... but only played it for about 45 minutes...
Honestly the amps didn't sound much if any, improved over the HD500 which I owned at the time...