Any big Dream Theater fans on here? Share your story and thoughts!

Mark IV

Here's a little back story because I'm pretty bored right now.

I've been listening to DT since I was born in 1993 when Images and Words came out. I'm 20 years old now and I've just always been a prog rock kid at heart from my father who was the biggest DT fan ever. (he passed about three months ago) He was the only one I could truly talk to about them and it was so sweet. Right before his passing, we saw DT for the first time together about two months prior in Chicago and I had bought the tickets in January as a surprise to him.

I'm going to post on the DT forums as well, but figured the FAS group might have some cool members to chime in on this as well seeing how Petrucci is an active Fractal user as well.

So if you guys have any cool concert stories, opinions on a favorite album/bootleg, favorite Petrucci setup/tone over the years or just anything at all DT related let's hear it! (Attached my favorite album as an image)

Attachments

• Dream_Theater_-_Metropolis_Pt._2-_Scenes_from_a_Memory.jpg
    Dream_Theater_-_Metropolis_Pt._2-_Scenes_from_a_Memory.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 17
Last edited:
I started listening to them when "When dream and day unite" came out.
Huge fan when I&W dropped, amazing album.
Saw them on every tour up until Scenes from a memory and lost interest and haven't listened to them since.
Think the songwriting suffered when Kevin Moore quit it all got more technical and the listenable parts became fewer for me at least.
I also think JP played more melodicaly in the early days, hear so much more mechanical shredding stuff later on.
Also I tHink i just got tired of LaBrie's vocals, sounds a bit forced to me.

Met JP by accident one time in 92'. Super cool and down to earth and seemed happy to talk gear/geeky stuff:)

Will always respect them ofcourse, fantastic band!