Amp in the room sound

Hi folks,
Let me preface this post by saying there is a reason I am posting this in the lounge section - which is that this topic has been done to death in the product forums.

I am one of those folks that is not satisfied with my tone - but only from a perspective of needing an “amp in the room” tone. As well, I understand that a lot of folks like their setup, including FRFR or running the device through a tube power stage.

However, the point still remains that technically, cab IRs are not amp-in-the-room simply because the IR has to be obtained through mic’ing the cab with the impulse as an input.

My question is - can a cabinet response not be modeled vs recorded? I guess this is analogous to the the difference in approach of an axe-fx vs a Kemper.

Now I’m a completely noob when it comes to the technology that goes behind creating these devices so pardon the question if it comes across as silly - but I’m genuinely interested in knowing if this is a possibility.

You can’t model sound realistically bouncing off the room behind you from a single speaker in front of you.

The simple answer is to use a real guitar cab in a room where it will actually bounce off the room. It’s called amp in the room, but its really cab in the room.

That said I get the AITR effect from a full range fully modeled signal out of a full range speaker when it’s loud enough to bounce around the room in the same way as a cab would.

A simple mistake people make when comparing is to put their real cab behind them shooting at their ankles then put an FRFR wedge in front of them aiming at their face and ears directly. Then they say it sounds different. Yup. Put your ears directly in front of that guitar cab and you’d make some changes there.

You can’t model sound realistically bouncing off the room behind you from a single speaker in front of you