Wish AKG-BX20/BX-5 Spring reverb

Crl

Hello!

I have been using my AXF III for a few years now, and I absolutely love it, but I can't get the sounds I'm after from the spring reverb.
It sounds to my ears a bit harsh on the high end. Maybe it's just lack of skill on my part. I have tried to pass the output of the reverb through an amp cabinet to warm it up a bit, thinking it was probably conceived to emulate the built in reverb tank in an classic amp, and it sounds better, but in comparison, the BX-20 emulation by UAD runs circles around the built in spring reverb to emulate those lush springs. I know it's an unfair comparison (afaik it contains a tank with many springs), but Iwas hoping it might be possible to harness the power of the AFX to bring the BX-20 and being able to use it live.
I also love the sound of Demeter spring reverb, and maybe it would be easier to get a sample to emulate. This would already be a huge step forward imo.
I also own an Orban spring reverb that sounds amazing when I squeeze it in my AXE FX presets that I would love to use live (it's a bit too fragile to move it around, so I can only use it in the studio, although I know this is a bit more of a niche sound).
I know this is probably too much to ask, but a man can dream. I'm sure I'm not the only spring reverb junkie in the fractal community, and if I am, it's most likely because people don't know yet that they need it :D

Thanks again for creating this amazing unit! I was a bit reluctant to get one, but it's definitely the best purchase I've made in years!

Last edited:
I have Universal Audio's BX-20, and it's amazing. It also requires a ton of DSP resources and takes up to 2 seconds to set up new parameter settings. I'd love to have it in the Axe, if it could be efficiently implemented.