Advice on monitors/amp

vicsnake

Hey guys, I've had the axe fx 2 xl+ for almost 2 years and I've been using it with headphones all the time. I like to record some covers and originals and I was recently made aware that having "live" sound was better for recording and to get better tones. I am basically a bedroom guitarist and I want to try the "real" sound of the axe fx.

I have a mesa boogie mark v and a road king 2x12 cabinet. I was wondering if you recommend getting a power amp (like the matrix gt800 or gt1000) or some monitors (like the jbl lsr305 or yamaha hs5).

I don't need ultra loud sound, I just want reasonable volume for playing and practicing.

Thanks guys.

PS - i know there's a huge difference in prices between the power amp and monitors. So I'm open to suggestions.

Hey guys, I've had the axe fx 2 xl+ for almost 2 years and I've been using it with headphones all the time. I like to record some covers and originals and I was recently made aware that having "live" sound was better for recording and to get better tones. I am basically a bedroom guitarist and I want to try the "real" sound of the axe fx.

I have a mesa boogie mark v and a road king 2x12 cabinet. I was wondering if you recommend getting a power amp (like the matrix gt800 or gt1000) or some monitors (like the jbl lsr305 or yamaha hs5).

I don't need ultra loud sound, I just want reasonable volume for playing and practicing.

Thanks guys.

PS - i know there's a huge difference in prices between the power amp and monitors. So I'm open to suggestions.
If you are only needing to record, you probably would be better served by purchasing cab packs instead. I think recording will sound better direct with the large variety of IRs then with using a single cabinet and micing it.